Skip Navigation

Celebrating 150 years

Follow us on Twitter Join us on Facebook Watch us on YouTube Contribute to our Flickr Group



School spirit, circa 1987

In 1986, Dale Lick became president.

That same year, the name of the flagship was restored to the University of Maine.

In 1992, Frederick Hutchinson became president.

In 1992, Scott Pellerin won the Hobey Baker Award, given to the top NCAA men’s ice hockey player.

In 1993, the men’s ice hockey team won the NCAA Division I National Championship, besting Lake Superior State 5–4. Paul Kariya won the Hobey Baker Award.

The Black Bear Food Guild was established in 1994.


Back to through the decades