Female students working in a lab
Students working in a lab, circa 1983


  • Alfond Arena, named for benefactor Harold Alfond, was dedicated in 1977.
  • Paul Silverman became president in 1980.
  • In 1980, the federal government designated UMaine as a Sea Grant College under a program conducted with the University of New Hampshire; in 2004, UMaine received the designation for its own program.
  • Arthur Johnson became president in 1984.