Men's ice hockey players celebrate their national championship win
Men’s ice hockey championship in 1999


  • The University of Maine Advanced Structures and Composites Center was founded in 1996 with support from the National Science Foundation.
  • Peter Hoff became president in 1997.
  • The Bryand Global Sciences Center opened in 1997.
  • Cindy Blodgett, a four-time Kodak All-American who became the second woman in NCAA Division I history to lead the nation in scoring four straight seasons, graduated in 1998.
  • In 1999, men’s ice hockey won the program’s second national title, topping the University of New Hampshire 3–2 in overtime.
  • In July 2000, the University of Maine Frederick E. Hutchinson Center opened in Belfast. The partnership between UMaine and the MBNA Foundation intended to bring high-quality education to the Midcoast.
  • In 2000, UMaine researchers at the Advanced Structures and Composites Center developed Bridge-in-a-Backpack.
  • Maine Harvest for Hunger began in 2000.
  • In 2002, the University of Maine Museum of Art in Bangor opened, as did Buchanan Alumni House.