The University of Maine Research and Graduate Studies Organizational Chart

Kody Varahramyan, Ph.D., Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School

Ali Abedi, Associate VP for Research

Sandra De Urioste Stone, Assistant VP for Research

Tammy Crosby, Special Assistant


Research Administration

Chris Boyton, Director

Tammy York, Assoc Director

Research Compliance

Amanda Ashe, Director

Paula Portalatin, Asst Director

Research Development

Jason Charland, Director

Saul Allen, Assoc Director

Portland Gateway

Pips Veazey, Director

Anne Heberger Marino, Assoc Director

Graduate School

Scott Delcourt, Assoc VP for Graduate Studies, and Senior Associate Dean

Kathleen Harding-Heber, Senior Director of Operations


Greg Cox, Director

Central Services

Jenn Baker, Director of Fiscal and Administrative Services

Erin Miller, Research Communications

Research Centers and Institutes

Deborah Bouchard, Aquaculture Research Institute (ARI)

Habib Dagher, Advanced Structures and Composites Center (ASCC)

Alan Cobo-Lewis, Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies (CCIDS)

Aaron Weiskittel, Center for Research on Sustainable Forests (CRSF)

Lenard Kaye, Center on Aging (COA)

Paul Mayewski, Climate Change Institute (CCI)

Clay Wheeler, Forest Bioproducts Research Institute (FBRI)

Sharmila Mukhopadhyay, Frontier Institute for Research in Senor Technologies (FIRST)

Ali Abedi, Innovative Media, Research and Commercialization Center (IMRC)

David Harder, Institute of Medicine

Michael Kinnison, Maine Center for Genetics and Environment

Johnathan Rubin, Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center (MCSPC)

Susan McKay, Maine Center for Research in STEM Education (RiSE)

David Hart, Sen. George J. Mitchell Center for Sustainability Solutions

Research Initiatives

Ali Abedi, UMaine Al

Kristen Schild, UMaine Arctic

George Kinghorn, Sandra De Urioste Stone, UMaine Arts

Aaron Weiskittel, UMaine FOREST

Gayle Zydlewski, UMaine MARINE

Onur Apul, Sharmila Mukhopadhyay, UMaine PFAS+

Ali Abedi, UMaine Space

Maine EPSCoR

Shane Moeykens, Director

Maine SEA Grant

Gayle Zydlewski, Director

Maine CORE

Megan Tardif, Director

ARCSIM (Advanced Research Computing, Data Security and Information Management)

Shane Moeykens, Director

Kevin Wentworth, Assistant Director

Undergraduate Research

Experiential Programs Innovation Central (EPIC)

Ali Abedi, Director

Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR)

Ali Abedi, Director

Caitlin Howell, Assoc Director