2019 CLAS Student and Faculty Awards

On Monday, April 28, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences celebrated their annual student and faculty awards recipients at a ceremony in the Buchanan Alumni House. Awards were presented to outstanding faculty and students, both undergraduate and graduate, in a number of categories.

Special recognition was given to UMaine’s 2019 valedictorian, Drew Brooks, a double-major in music and microbiology. Brooks, of Lyman, Maine, will begin his first year of medical school in August. Check out this profile on Brooks and his experience at UMaine.

Thilee Yost of Damariscotta, Maine was recognized as the 2019 CLAS Outstanding Graduating Student. A double-major in political science and philosophy, with minors in legal studies, and political philosophy and ethics, Yost’s numerous honors include the John Mitchell Nickerson University of Maine Memorial Scholarship, a UMaine Center for Undergraduate Research Fellowship and U.S.-Singapore Exchange Scholarship, as well as being a student in the Honors College. Read this profile to learn more about Yost and her many accomplishments.

Also recognized at the awards ceremony was Madison Riley, an undergraduate student in history and women’s, gender, and sexuality studies, who was selected as one of the recipients of the George J. Mitchell Peace Scholarship. Riley will spend Fall 2019 at the University College Cork in Ireland.

Six graduate students were presented with awards for accomplishments in research, teaching, and scholarship. The 2019 CLAS graduate award recipients are:

  • Outstanding Graduating Student: Anna McGinn, Global Policy
  • Research and Creative Activity: Brieanne Berry, Anthropology & Environmental Policy, and Matthew Parent, Physics
  • Teaching: Sarah Ebel, Anthropology & Environmental Policy, and Jaqulin Wallace, Physics
  • Interdisciplinary: Ani St. Amand, Quaternary & Climate Studies

Awards were also presented to four faculty members in several categories. The 2019 CLAS faculty award recipients are:

A list of past faculty award recipients can be found here.

A record number of promoted and tenured faulty were also recognized during the ceremony. CLAS faculty promoted to full professor:

Faculty promoted to associate professor with tenure:

Outstanding seniors from each CLAS department were presented with awards recognizing their achievements at UMaine. Recipients of the 2019 CLAS Senior Recognition Awards are:

  • Skye Siladi, Anthropology
  • Lindsay M. Taylor, Art
  • Angus Koller, Chemistry
  • Keely Gonyea, Communication & Journalism
  • Stanley Small, Computing & Information Science
  • Kimberly Crowley, English
  • Dakota Gramour, History
  • Tiffany Tanner, International Affairs
  • Isaac Vaccaro, Mathematics & Statistics
  • Evan Marshall, Modern Languages & Classics
  • Ian Donnelly, New Media
  • Kayla Gayton, Music
  • Mackenzie Peacock, Theatre/Dance
  • Thilee Yost, Philosophy
  • Benjamin Waterman, Physics & Astronomy
  • Sophie Cohen, Political Science
  • Amanda Laverdiere, Psychology
  • Jonah Paris, Sociology
  • Juliet Williams, Women’s, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Along with the outstanding graduating seniors, a number of rising seniors were recognized. Recipients of the 2019 James S. Stevens Outstanding Junior Award are:

  • Emilie Andersen, Psychology
  • Delaney Burns, Studio Art
  • Brooke Curtis, English
  • Abigail Despres, Political Science
  • Mitchell Fossier, New Media
  • Arianna Giguere, Physics
  • Melodie Godin, Psychology
  • Aidan Greenlee, Engineering Physics and Mathematics
  • Liam Greenlee, Mathematics
  • Jens Hansen, Computer Science and Mathematics
  • David Howe, Chemistry
  • Lindsey Lagerstrom, Psychology and Sociology
  • Connor Langlois, Computer Science
  • Emma Lueders, Chemistry
  • Libby Masse, Theatre
  • Tim Mcinnes, Political Science
  • Kale McLaughlin, Psychology
  • Drake Perkins, New Media
  • Aidan Regan, Mathematics
  • Caitlyn Rooms, International Affairs
  • Katie Skvorak, English
  • Isabelle Stevens, Psychology
  • Liz Theriault, Journalism and Political Science
  • Tanner Towle, Political Science
  • Julie Watson, Spanish
  • Jarod Webb, English
  • Patrick White, Political Science
  • Taylor Williams, Psychology
  • Brittany Woods, Anthropology and Spanish
  • Max Worgull, English
  • Tate Yoder, New Media

Thanks to Provost Jeffrey E. Hecker for opening remarks and presentation of student awards during the ceremony. Special thanks also go to the members of the 2018-19 CLAS awards committee — Daniel Barrett, David Batuski, Emily Haigh, Margaret Lukens, Jessica Miller, Michael Robbins, Judith Rosenbaum, and Natasha Speer.