Student Awards

UMaine’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter gears up for 100th class of inductees

  The University of Maine chapter of Phi Beta Kappa will soon mark an auspicious milestone. This April, PBK’s Delta Chapter of Maine will induct their 100th anniversary class. The chapter was initially approved in 1922, with the first class inducted the following spring. Hitting the century mark is a significant benchmark, one that the […]

Read more

Laura Artesani introducing Drew Brooks

2019 CLAS Student and Faculty Awards

On Monday, April 28, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences celebrated their annual student and faculty awards recipients at a ceremony in the Buchanan Alumni House. Awards were presented to outstanding faculty and students, both undergraduate and graduate, in a number of categories. Special recognition was given to UMaine’s 2019 valedictorian, Drew Brooks, a […]

Read more

CLAS tower and trees

2018-19 Undergraduate Student Fellowship Awards

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and the McGillicuddy Humanities Center are pleased to announce the recipients of the Research and Creative Activities Fellowships for the 2018-2019 academic year. The fellowships were developed to support undergraduate student involvement in faculty supervised research and creative activity. Each fellowship provides an award of up to $1,100 for […]

Read more

Center for Undergraduate Research Summer Fellowship CLAS Winners

The Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) awarded their annual Summer Fellowship grants recently, with four College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) students out of 17 total awardees receiving this honor. Each student is given $3,000 to further their research in the coming months. The winners are: Gwyneth Roberts, a mathematics major working with advisor […]

Read more

2018 CLAS Awards

Wednesday, April 25 – The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) was pleased to hold their annual awards ceremony, honoring outstanding students and faulty. This year, CLAS was proud, not only to recognize outstanding students, but to recognize the Class of 2018 Valedictorian, Graham Van Goffrier. Graham is graduating after his four years with a […]

Read more

Department of Communication and Journalism 2018 Outstanding Students

CMJ recently handed out awards to their outstanding students for 2018. The recipients are as follows: Undergraduate Awards Wofford Gardner Award: Outstanding Academic Achievement in Communication Timothy P. Rocha Brooks Hamilton: Spirit of Excellence Award – Journalistic passion award Katie Caufield The Raymie McKerrow Award: Distinguished Undergraduate Student in Communication & Journalism – Department-wide citizenship award Cassie […]

Read more

2017-2018 Fellowship Award Recipients

CLAS Fellowship Award Student Recipients (Student Name, Academic Focus, Project Title, Faculty Mentor) Ariel Bouchard, psychology, “Hypoxemia in Obstructive Sleep Apnea Individuals as a Proposed Factor in the Detection of MCI,” Prof. Marie Hayes Paul Caruso, physics, “Structural Studies of Nanostructured Thin Film Materials Using High Resolution X-ray Diffraction,” Prof. Robert Lad Cassidy Gagne, psychology, […]

Read more

Physics students spelling out physics on the ground

Physics student organization wins national award

This month the University of Maine undergraduate Society of Physics Students (SPS) chapter was named an Outstanding Chapter for 2016-2017. The SPS Outstanding Chapter Award is the highest level of distinction given to chapters, with less than 10% of chapters honored annually. The UMaine SPS chapter strives to enable it’s members to become engaged leaders […]

Read more

Undergraduate research award recipients announced for the 2017-2018 academic year

The University of Maine’s Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) has announced the undergraduate recipients of the Research and Creative Activities Fellowships for the 2017–2018 academic year, and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is well represented. CUGR’s advisory committee selected 14 proposals overall from 70 student submissions to be awarded $1,000 each during the […]

Read more