Welcoming Two New Faculty

Dr. Bashir Khoda

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Industrial and Systems Engineering, University at Buffalo

Research Interests: Bio-Inspired Additive Manufacturing of Functionalized Lattice Composites; Digital Manufacturing; Additive Manufacturing; CAD/CAM/CAE

Dr. Aaron Joy

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Kansas

Research Interests: Classical and Non-Classical Continuum Mechanics; Computational Mathematics; Fluid-Solid Interaction; and Modeling of Energetic Materials

Celebrating Student and Faculty Achievements

At a recent Bryand Awards Banquet in the College of Engineering at UMaine, Serge Maalouf, Geng Biao, and Dr. Andy Goupee received awards for outstanding graduate teaching assistant, outstanding graduate research assistant, and early career teaching, respectively.

Dr. Andy Goupee also recently received an award from NSF to engage in research aimed at developing improved controls strategies that can aid in reducing the cost of energy for floating offshore wind farms. The primary purpose of wind turbine controls is for regulating power production as the wind environment changes. The project is expected to yield several important benefits, including improvements to publicly available floating wind turbine farm simulation tools and models that are used by numerous researchers in the U.S. and around the world.

Dr. Sheila Edalatpour and Dr. Carl Tripp have received a $350,000 grant from NSF to test the hypothesis that the spectrum of near-field thermal radiation can be tuned using man-made materials that are engineered at the sub-wavelength scale. The research is expected to contribute to the advancement of knowledge and technology in the field of nanoscale radiative heat transfer in several ways. It will provide physical insight into the mechanisms of near-field thermal emission by man-made materials, and it will help to establish theoretical models that accelerate design and discovery of materials with novel radiative properties.

Dr. Qian Xue has been awarded $400,000 from NIH for “Development of an Accurate and Real-Time Voice Simulator for Voice Disorders.” The award is to support a collaborative research effort between Mechanical Engineering Department at UManie and the National Center for Voice and Speech. The goal is to to develop an innovative high-fidelity computer model for simulating vocal fold vibrations and voice outcomes in various irregular vocal conditions for studying the cause-effect relationship between vocal fold biomechanics and voice outcomes. Read more