Orientation to Staff

Maine Day 2018
Does not necessarily reflect our theoretical orientations

The theoretical orientation of the Counseling Center is varied. A healthy mix of interpersonal, systems, dynamic, feminist, cognitive-behavioral and humanistic approaches is practiced.  While the orientations are varied we would all describe our approach to therapy as highly relational.  Following is a list of current senior staff, their orientation and interests. This is followed by a list of Adjunct Training Faculty and recent Interns.  You can see brief descriptions of senior staff members’ interests below, or click on their names to link to their page under the Our Staff  section.

Permanent Staff

April J. Boulier, Ed.D. (West Virginia University, 1989); Licensed Psychologist; Humanistic orientation. Individual, couples and family therapy. Special interest in identity and career counseling, eating disturbances, weight loss and exercise, self-esteem, health psychology, gender issues, outreach and supervision.

Jessica Browne, M.S.S., M.L.S.P. (Bryn Mawr College, 2009) Licensed Clinical Social Worker; Co-Coordinator of Outreach & Mind Spa. I work from a strengths based, resiliency and trauma informed perspective. I typically lean towards a psychodynamic orientation and value diversity, social justice and each individual’s narrative.

Brent D. Elwood, Ph.D. (The University of Texas at Austin, 2001); Licensed  Psychologist;  Assistant Director–Training and Clinical Services.  Systems-oriented and psychodynamic orientation informed by feminist and hermeneutic perspectives.  Individual, couples and group therapy, with special interest in trauma, group therapy, organizational consultation, career, and gender issues.

Douglas P. Johnson, Ph.D., C.G.P. (The Pennsylvania State University, 1992); Licensed Psychologist; Director. Certified Group Psychotherapist. Existential-Humanistic orientation integrated with Developmental, Dynamic-Interpersonal and Systems Theory.   Special interest in Systems-oriented group psychotherapy and organizational consultation.

Elizabeth (Liz) Toner, MSW (University of Maine, 2013). Licensed Clinical Social Worker.  Eclectic mix of cognitive-behavioral therapy, strengths-based perspective, attachment theory, and mindfulness. Individual and Group therapy.

Liang-Yao (Frank) Wang, Ph.D. (Biola University, 2019)  Clinical Staff Member.  Psychodynamic, experiential, and cognitive behavioral approaches. In individual and couple therapy.  Member of American Psychological Association.

Adjunct Training Faculty

Alan C. Butler, Ph.D. Licensed Psychologist; Founding Training Director, former UMaine Counseling Center staff member
Holly Costar, Ph.D. Licensed Psychologist, Private Practice. former UMaine Counseling Center staff member
Robert Dana, Ed.D., Vice President of Student Life and Dean of Students, Division of Student Life
Sarah Henry, Director, Student Accessibility Services, University of Maine, Orono
Kathrine Butler Hepler, Ph.D. Licensed Psychologist. Former UMaine Counseling Center staff member
Judith Josiah-Martin, M.S.W., School of Social Work, University of Maine, Orono
Susan Pinette, Director, Franco-American Center, University of Maine, Orono
Bud Walkup, L.A.D.C, former Substance Abuse Counselor at University of Maine

Recent Interns*


Catarina Alves (Southern Illinois University)
Jenna Labbe-Watson (Antioch University, New England)
Chad Lazzari (Antioch University, New England)


Kierst Finsand (University of St. Thomas)
Joshua Green (University of Connecticut)
Jordan Stewart (Antioch University, New England)


Thomas Allen (University of Minnesota, Twin Cities)
Stephanie Harrison (Chatham University)
Alesya Nazarova (George Washington University)


Nicole Cappiello (University of Hartford)
Danika Sciarrotta (University of La Verne)
Shannon Stavinoha (Texas Women’s University)


Matthew Jezzi (University of Maryland, College Park)
Amy Moran (University of St. Thomas)
Vanessa Vargas (Georgia School of Professional Psychology)


Gunnar Ingolfsson (Ball State University)
Miranda Meadows (Wheaton College)
Nate Page (Brigham Young University)


Therese Borges (Auburn University)
Tricia Maynard (Adler School of Professional Psychology)
Laurie Page (Brigham Young University)


Kathi Butler Hepler (University of Montana)
Michael Lyman (Brigham Young University)
Kelly Shaw (The Chicago School of Professional Psychology)


Matt Colon (Wright Institute)
Meghan Nash(Florida Institute of Technology)
Brian Ward (Chicago School of Professional Psychology)


Rachael Kerns (George Fox University)
Jeff Walter (University of Minnesota)
Samantha Wheeler (Western Michigan University)


Jessica Mijal (University of St. Thomas)
Innocent Okozi (Seton Hall University)
Michael Starkey (University of Minnesota)


David Dahlbeck (University of Memphis)
Kelly Russo (Fielding University)
Jory Smith (George Fox University)


Andrew Cole (Yeshiva University)
Robert Fasman (Arizona State University)
Adam Fenske (George Fox University)


Holly Costar (University of Maryland)
Claude Dotson (Spaulding University)
Salena King (Auburn University)


Kylie Cole-Zakrzewski (University of Tennessee)
Juan Pablo Kalawski (University of North Texas)
Kirsten Michels (University of Georgia)


Terri Elofson Bly (Argosy University/Twin Cities)
Russell Phillips III (Bowling Green University)
Ariela Reder (Wright State University)


Kristin Ljungberg (Argosy- Honolulu)
Stephanie Poplock (Northeastern)


Nancy Hartsock (George Washington University)
Aaron Krasnow (Clark University)


Jeanne Dorland (The University of Akron)
Richard Jazdzewski (Minnesota School of Professional Psychology)
Ronald Young (James Madison University)


Jay Coughlin (James Madison University)
Jennifer Fife (Boston College)
Kristine Karl (Minnesota School of Professional Psychology)

*Some intern alumni names may be omitted if we were unable to contact them or if they requested that their names not be listed on line.

Next page in APA Internship Materials                       APA Internship Home