Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar | Apply | Give Now | Emergency
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family |

Commuter & Non-Traditional Student Programs

Site Navigation:

CNTSP Programs - Awards

The  Graduating Non-Traditional Student Achievement Award recognizes graduating non-traditional students who have shown a passion for learning, a commitment for their academic program, and contributed significantly to the university community while managing the multiple life roles of a non-traditional student. Students are nominated by friends, faculty, or staff in late spring semester. Winners are chosen by Student Life  staff and awarded in late April or May.




Graduating Non-Traditional Student Achievement Award

2015: Jean Desrochers, A.J. Rutherford, Jonathan Torsch

2014: Nicole Curtis-Bray  Theresa McMannus, Kristina Devine

2013: Nicole Golden-Bouchard,  Mark Brunton,  Dora McCarthy

2012 : Kelly Gagne, Lucas Rumler,  and Lori Watson

2011:  Jason Canniff

2010:  Kathleen O’Connell, Lee Malvin, Christine Paluga and Erinn Rossignoll

2009 : Darith James, Meghan McPhee, and Valerie J. Mitchell.

The Linda Bradford Non-Traditional Student Community Award :

2015: Joshua Blaine and  Jonathan Roy

2014: Moriah Geer

2013:  Linda Bradford

Recognizing  Faculty and Staff

CNTSP and the Non traditional Student Association ( NSA)  recognizes faculty and staff  for their extraordinary support and encouragement of non-traditional students.

Raymond Hintz, Professor  Surveying Engineering Technology, SVT

Pat Burns, Associate Professor of English and Director of College Composition.
Lisa Morin,  Coordinator of the Bodewell Volunteer Center
Barbara Smith, Staff Associate for Student Life, CNTSP

AnneMarie Reed, Associate Director , Campus Activities and Student Engagement, CASE

2012 :
Tina Passman Associate Professor, Classical languages & Literature, Interim Director of Peace Studies,   Cooperating faculty  for Community Inclusion and Disabilities Studies
Ann Smith , Instructor and Director of Disability Support Services
Eva Wagner ,Educational Coordinator , University of Maine Museum of Art

Jane Wellman-Little , Phyllis Brazee, The Senior Alumni

2009 :
Sandra Caron, Kathy Ingraham, and Ginger Hwalek.

This award recognizes UMaine faculty and staff members who have shown sensitivity to the diverse learning styles and the multifaceted lives of non-traditional undergraduate students. Through student interactions and program design, they recognize the rich contributions that non-traditional students make. They have provided support, assistance and advocacy for the non-traditional students at the University of Maine. Faculty and staff are nominated by students in late spring semester. Winners are chosen by CNTSP staff and active members of the Non-traditional Students Association who have not submitted a nomination.

Image Description: 16703818133_3d83decbdb

Image Description: 17116637897_48b8c29f07_z(1)

Image Description: 17137841539_c6e991339b_z

Image Description: 17323665691_ffa1b7430a_z

Image Description: 17137841639_cd73e5879d_z

Image Description: 17322217772_5b9b676336_z

Back to CNTSP Programs


Contact Information

Commuter & Non-Traditional Student Programs
Commuter Lounge/Wade Center, Ground Floor Memorial Union
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: 207-581-1734 | Fax: 207 581 1737E-mail:
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System