Nontraditional Student Graduation and Awards

Nontraditional Student Graduation Breakfast   MAY 2, 2019

Tony A, Dr D and BAS

All nontraditional undergraduate students who  will graduate in May, August or December of that year are invited to attend a special graduation breakfast during the last week of classes of Spring semester. Each non trad graduate is recognized and receives a special “non trad grad” medallion. Graduates are encouraged to wear these medallions at their UM commencement

 Non Traditional  Undergraduate students who are graduating this coming May , August or Dec. should be receiving invitations  by  late March / early April. If you have questions or did not receive an invitation and would like one, contact CNTSP at

Special recognition for nontraditional students and supportive faculty and staff is awarded at the annual Non Trad Graduation Breakfast. Nominations for these awards may be submitted through the links listed below.

Nomination process is  closed  for 2019 . Nominations should  will reopen in April 2020 .

Nomination form: Graduating Non Traditional Student Achievement

Nomination Form:  Recognizing UMaine Faculty/Staff for Creating Positive Learning Experiences for Non-Traditional* Undergraduate Students

Nomination form: Nontraditional Student Linda Bradford Award for Campus and Community Service


Graduating Nontraditional Student Achievement Award

The Graduating Nontraditional Student Achievement Award recognizes graduating nontraditional students who have shown a passion for learning, a commitment for their academic program, and contributed significantly to the university community while managing the multiple life roles of a nontraditional student. Students are nominated by  other students, faculty, or staff in  April .  These students  are chosen by Student Life  staff and  recognized   at the Nontraditional  Student Graduation Breakfast.

2019 Amy Dias, Courtney Hatton , Susan Lessard and Michelle Miller

2018: Brian Berger, Tessa Byard, Tina Hedrick
2017:  Jennifer M. Brown, Chad Caron, Kaitlyn Moriarty
2016: Antonio Giacomuzzi, Moriah Geer, Kathleen Hill, April Turner
2015: Jean Desrochers, A.J. Rutherford, and  Jonathan Torsch
2014: Nicole Curtis-Bray  Theresa McMannus, and Kristina Devine
2013: Nicole Golden-Bouchard, Mark Brunton, and Dora McCarthy
2012: Kelly Gagne, Lucas Rumler, and Lori Watson
2011:  Jason Canniff
2010:  Kathleen O’Connell, Lee Malvin, Christine Paluga, and Erinn Rossignoll
2009: Darith James, Meghan McPhee, and Valerie J. Mitchell.

The Linda Bradford Nontraditional Student Community Award

This award, named after the first recipient, Linda Bradford, honors a nontraditional student who has contributed much to the community. This award recognizes an individual who despite assuming multiple roles as student plus employee/spouse/parent etc, still volunteers to serve others and contributes  his/her talents, skills and time to the benefit of others. This award is sponsored by the Nontraditional Student Association (NSA).

This nontraditional student has shown a passion for life-long learning and serving his/her community.  Through relationships, role modeling and volunteer service this student has contributed in extraordinary ways to the University of Maine and the community.

2018 : Amy Dias
2017: Lacey Darling
2016: David Patrick
2015: Joshua Blaine and  Jonathan Roy
2014: Moriah Geer
2013: Linda Bradford

 Faculty and Staff Who Support and Assist Nontraditional Students

CNTSP and the Non traditional Student Association ( NSA)  recognizes faculty and staff  for their extraordinary support and encouragement of nontraditional students.This award recognizes UMaine faculty and staff members who have shown sensitivity to the diverse learning styles and the multifaceted lives of nontraditional undergraduate students. Through student interactions and program design, they recognize the rich contributions that nontraditional students make. They have provided support, assistance and advocacy for the non-traditional students at the University of Maine. Faculty and staff are nominated by students in late spring semester. Winners are chosen by CNTSP staff and active members of the Non-traditional Students Association who have not submitted a nomination.

2019:  Jennifer Brown, Financial Aid
          Wendy Coons, School of Business
          Matt Graham , School of Business

Robert Causey, Associate Professor of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Melissa Ladenheim,  Associate Dean, Faculty, Honors College
Kevin Roberge, Lecturer, Mathematics & Statistics
Tony LLerena, Coordinator of Veteran’s Services, Student Life
2017: BJ Roach, Career Counselor, The Career Center
2016: Barbara Cole, Professor and Chair of Chemistry department
Sara Walton, Lecturer Chemical Engineering & Bioengineering
Lori Wingo, Coordinator , Division of Lifelong Learning Adult Advising Center
2015: Raymond Hintz, Professor  Surveying Engineering Technology, SVT
2014: Pat Burns, Associate Professor of English and Director of College Composition.
Lisa Morin,  Coordinator of the Bodewell Volunteer Center
Barbara Smith, Staff Associate for Student Life, CNTSP
2013: AnneMarie Reed, Associate Director, Campus Activities and Student Engagement, CASE
2012: Tina Passman, Associate Professor, Classical languages & Literature, Interim Director of Peace Studies, Cooperating faculty
for  Community  Inclusion and Disabilities Studies
Ann Smith, Instructor and Director of Disability Support Services
Eva Wagner, Educational Coordinator , University of Maine Museum of Art
2011: Jane Wellman-Little, Phyllis Brazee,  and The Senior Alumni
2010:  Farahad Dastoor, Barbara Howard, and Brad Libby
2009: Sandra Caron, Kathy Ingraham, and Ginger Hwalek.