Residence Hall Descriptions

The University of Maine campus has 17 different residence halls, providing a wide variety of building and community styles to meet students’ needs.  For the 2017-2018 academic year, our communities and halls will include:

  • Seven residence halls dedicated to first-year students, including Androscoggin, Knox, Cumberland, Gannett, Somerset, Oxford, and York Halls
  • Two floors dedicated to Transfer Students in Aroostook Hall
  • Seven different First Year Experience themed housing Living Learning Communities (LLCs), which provide first-year students the opportunity to live with peers who share a common interest
  • Four residence halls dedicated to second-year students, in Hart, Hancock, Oak and Kennebec Halls
  • Three residence halls for Honors students, including Penobscot, Colvin and Balentine Halls
  • Two on-campus apartment complexes for juniors and seniors in DTAV and Patch Halls and one traditional living area for juniors and seniors in Estabrook Hall