Board of Advisors

The Center’s Board of Advisors is a standing committee constituted of University of Maine alumni and friends invested in advancing the McGillicuddy Humanities Center’s mission.


  • Timothy Garrity ’14G, Historian, Mount Desert Island Historical Society


  • Nolan Altvater, ’20, University of Maine iPhD student and Special Projects Cultural Coordinator, Maine Coast Heritage Trust
  • Richard P. Anderson, ’73, founder, Richard Parks Furniture (founder) and Karin Anderson, psychiatrist (retired)
  • Mary Copeland, ’11, Managing Director, Avance Partner Search
  • LeeEllen Friedland, President, Ethnologica
  • Philip Hamilton ’85, Managing Partner, Diablo Vista Capital, LLC
  • Jeffrey Hecker ’86, ’14H, Professor of Psychology, University of Maine
  • Carl Little, freelance writer, art critic and author
  • Brian Naylor ’79, Washington Correspondent, National Public Radio (NPR)
  • Kathryn Olmstead, associate professor emerita in Communication and Journalism, UMaine; former columnist for the Bangor Daily News (BDN), and editor/publisher/co-founder of Echoes magazine (based in Caribou, Maine)
  • Sarah Penney, ’21,
  • Sandra Peters ’69, Educator (retired)
  • Henry L.P. Schmelzer ’65, former Chair, Maine Public Broadcasting (MPBN) Board of Trustees; former President and CEO, Maine Community Foundation
  • Lauren A. Sterling, Philanthropy Consultant
  • Dr. Robert Swan, ’68, dentist (retired) and Jean W. Swan, educator (retired)
  • Dr. David A. Taylor ’74, External Relations and Program Development Officer for the Library of Congress
  • Herb Whiteley, ’74, Professor Emeritus, University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine


  • Emily Haddad, Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, University of Maine

Patrons Circle 

Patrons provide an annual gift of $1,000 in support of MHC initiatives.

Richard P. Anderson and Karin Anderson
Anonymous Donor
Constance H. Babcock
Douglas C. Baston
Jessica Canatsey and David Canatsey
Sheila E. Comerford and Stephen W. Gove
Mark Cressey and Anne Cressey
Corey L. Davis
Matthew G. Dunlap and Michelle Ann Dunphy
John Eaton and Linda Eaton
Allen Fernald and Sally Fernald
Timothy Garrity and Lynn Boulger
Philip Hamilton and Susan Hamilton
Susan J. Hunter, Ph.D. and David H. Lambert, Ph.D.
Faye W. Gilbert, Ph.D.
Jim Jenkins and Anne Jenkins
Stephen E. King and Tabitha Spruce King
Barbara B. Keast
Parker S. Laite Jr. and Nancy L. Laite
Priscilla Bakewell Linn
Clement E. McGillicuddy and Linda McGillicuddy
Matt Mullen and Emily Mullen
Dr. Joan Ferrini-Mundy and Richard A. Mundy
Brian Naylor and Barbara Van Woerkom
Kathryn Olmstead
Daniel P. Ostrye and Hannah Ostrye
John Peters and Sandra Peters
Celeste A. Ringuette
Henry L.P. Schmelzer and Cynthia E. Livingston
Lauren A. Sterling and William D. Adams
Terry Strickland and Claire Strickland
Robert M. Swan and Jean W. Swan
David Taylor and LeeEllen Friedland
John K. Veroneau and Carol Svoboda
James S. Ward IV and Susan C. Ward