Rules & Regulations
The University may change Parking and Motor Vehicle Rules from time to time. Thereafter, it will promptly make available all changes to owners of registered vehicles via the provided email address.
- In order to insure the orderly flow of traffic, maximum utilization of parking facilities and access to buildings for emergency vehicles, it is necessary to establish and enforce rules governing vehicle operation and parking on campus. The policies governing parking at the University of Maine are set forth in the following rules. Please read them carefully, as they apply to everyone utilizing roadways and parking lots at the University of Maine.
B. General Reference Information:
- Motor Vehicle: any automobiles including motorcycles, but not including snowmobiles.
- Registration: information required by Parking and Transportation Services and provided by the driver or owner – name, address and vehicle information.
- Permit: the means of identification by the use of a pre-numbered, color-coded hangtag-style permit displayed from the rearview mirror of the vehicle.
- Temporary Permit: issued for students and employees for up to a 7-day period. No more than 3 temporary permits will be issued per semester unless otherwise approved by the Parking and Transportation Services.
- Parking Lots: the designated paved areas on the University of Maine Campus, or University of Maine owned or controlled property. Signage should be noted at the entrance or plainly within view stating the restriction of the lot.
- Permit and Parking Lot Color Designation: color codes on permits, signs and parking maps which identify the corresponding permits/lots for ease of recognition. All other vehicles are prohibited from parking therein unless special permission is granted by Parking and Transportation Services. Permit holders should read front and back of their permit to clarify lot designations.
- Blue color-coded lots are for use by Blue permit holders.
- Red color-coded lots are for use by Red permit holders.
- Black color-coded lots are for use by Black and Blue permit holders.
- Lot designation is subject to change. Posted signage will always take precedence over any campus map.
- A replacement permit will be provided for a $5.00 processing fee. Only one permit is allowed per person. Permits stolen are to be reported to UMaine Police Department; permits lost are to be reported to Parking and Transportation Services. A vehicle displaying a reported lost or stolen permit will be cited and subject to towing.
C. Special Parking Areas/Conditions
- To park in an accessible space, an individual must also have a state-issued accessible permit/placard or plate and a valid University of Maine parking permit. Parking and Transportation Services can issue a temporary accessible parking permit valid for one week while waiting for a State issued disabled plate or placard.
- Tenant organizations, regularly using a building or area owned by the University of Maine, are authorized to display a purchased color-coded permit to park in the designated areas.
- Vendors, contractor personnel and servicing organizations must register their vehicles for parking authorization in established parking lots or other locations. Fees will be charged for vendor parking permits, which must be displayed for parking purposes.
- Visitor designated parking areas are only for visitors to the campus. Faculty, staff, and students are not to park their vehicles in visitor designated areas.
D. General Rules:
- All Resident Student lots are restricted at all times to resident permitted vehicles only.
- Parking in other than color-coded lots is prohibited and will result in your vehicle being towed. Special authorization may be obtained from the Parking and Transportation Services.
- Any vehicle, illegally parked will be prima facie evidence that it has been parked by the person in whose name the permit is assigned, and/or by the registered owner recorded at the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- No vehicle may be operated on University roadways if it is in violation of any state or local municipal ordinance. All violations involving moving vehicles are processed through District Court.
- The speed limit, unless otherwise posted, is twenty five (25) miles per hour and fifteen (15) miles per hour through University Park, conditions permitting.
- Motor vehicles may not be left on University-owned/controlled property for any extended period of time during vacations, or for an academic field trip, athletic trip (athletes and spectators), or other University related business trip, without prior permission and instructions from the Parking and Transportation Services Office.
- Motor vehicles using any parking area must be registered (State and University), in operating condition at all times, and in compliance with these Rules.
- Any person using any parking area will cooperate during periods of snow removal, or when the parking area has been closed for an authorized event, by moving his/her vehicle promptly when requested by University staff.
- Prior to having a motorcade on campus, a permit must be obtained through the UMaine Police Department.
- Parking citations must be answered within 10 days; in person or by mail to the Parking and Transportation Services Office, 523 DTAV Community Center, Orono, ME 04469-5702.
- Citations must be paid at Parking and Transportation Services (Office 523 DTAV, Community Center). We accept payment via check, money order, cash, credit/debit card at the office or over the phone. If a student, unpaid fees that are at least 14 days old will be automatically transferred to the student’s account at the Bursar’s Office in Alumni Hall. Failure to pay an outstanding balance may result in the inability to register for classes; transcripts or graduation diplomas being withheld; referral to a collection agency; until fines are paid in full.
- No vehicle may park or stop within twenty (20) feet of any fire hydrant. All vehicles will be towed.
- Occupants’ vehicles parked at the University Park will utilize the space provided by the apartment as identified by Student Auxiliary Services.
- Motor vehicles are prohibited on the bikeway. Exceptions are maintenance and emergency vehicles performing routine patrol or responding to an emergency on the bikeway.
- The University of Maine assumes no responsibility for damage to, or theft from, any vehicle parked at any University parking area or elsewhere on University property, or any vehicle which is damaged while being towed or in storage as herein provided for.
- The University Of Maine assumes no responsibility for fees resulting from the towing and storage of vehicles failing to obey the rules and regulations.
- In compliance with Maine State Department of Environmental Protection Regulations, mechanical repairs to all vehicles, with the exception of changing a flat tire or jump-starting a dead battery, are prohibited on campus. Vehicles requiring other mechanical repairs must be driven or towed to an off-campus service facility. Changing or draining any vehicle fluids is prohibited on University property. All University vehicles must be serviced in locations designated for that purpose. The washing of motor vehicles is prohibited on campus, and vehicles must be washed at locations dedicated for that purpose.
E. Specific Information:
- The Faculty/Staff, Commuter and Visitor parking lots are open to visitors use without a permit on University recognized holidays, Saturdays, Sundays, and between the hours of 4:00 PM and 6:00 AM on weekdays. Exceptions to this use listed below:
- Winter Parking Ban – All Faculty/Staff, Commuter, and Visitor parking areas and all roadways and driveways are closed to parking from November 1 to May 1 of each year between the hours of 12:01 AM and 6:00 AM. Vehicles parked in violation will be subject to being ticketed and towed at the owners’ expense.
- Faculty and staff or visitors displaying blue or black permits may park overnight in either the commuter section of the Bridge Tennis Court lot or the College Ave South lot. Residents with red permits should only park in red lots per their permit. Please remind visitors to campus of this policy to avoid their vehicles being cited or towed.
- Motor vehicles used by faculty, staff, and students must have a permit and be registered with Parking and Transportation Services when on campus.
Any violation of these Rules and Regulations may result in being cited, removed, and towed or immobilization; and/or other appropriate disciplinary actions, including, but not limited to, proceedings under the Student Conduct Code; proceedings under State of Maine law or any combination of such penalties. Additional citations can be issued if the original violation is not corrected within 24 hours. If after 24 hours the vehicle is still in violation another citation can be written.
Charges for violations of these Rules may be waived by payment of the fines:
Effective July 1st, 2022:
|Parking in spaces designated for Accessible/Handicap without the appropriate permit/placard.
|Parking in a posted Fire Lane.||$150|
|Using an unauthorized permit that has been altered, found, stolen, or counterfeited.||$100|
|Parking in an unpaved area or on the turf.||$50|
|Failure to register a vehicle with Parking and Transportation Services after receiving three or more citations for “No Permit”.||$50|
|Parking on a sidewalk, pedestrian path, safety zone or in an area or manner constituting a safety hazard.||$50|
|Parking in violation of permit issued. (Improper Lot/Space)||$50|
|Parking in posted loading zone without proper permit.||$50|
|Parking in posted bus stop area.||$50|
|Parking in lots that are closed to overnight parking due to winter parking ban.||$50|
|Parking in lots that have been closed for:
|Parking in “No Parking” areas:
|Parking overtime in a timed space.||$25|
|Parking in a posted “Service Vehicle” space.||$50|
|Parking without a permit (no permit).||$25|
|Failure to display a parking permit after it has been purchased and is valid.||$20|
(This citation was added 11/30/22 for better clarification on EV violations)
Multiple tickets can be issued in lieu of impoundment and towing.
G. Towing Policy:
1. A vehicle may be towed or immobilized and stored at the owner’s expense without further notice when found in any of the following situations:
- When it is parked within twenty (20) feet of a fire hydrant or overextending in parking lots in a manner as to impede fire-fighting efforts.
- When it obstructs traffic or is parked on a roadway, driveway, loading zone, service vehicle space, electric vehicle space, fire lane, or accessible parking area including adjacent striping without special permission. Note: Van-accessible handicap parking spaces include the stripes next to the space with the wheelchair symbol.
- When a vehicle has remained in an area that has been closed at the direction of Parking and Transportation Services, for snow removal, maintenance or a special event.
- When it has been abandoned as reasonably determined by the Parking Office.
- When it has been parked continuously for more than three (3) days in violation of any of these Rules.
- When it is parked on unpaved or turf areas.
- When it is parked on sidewalk or obstructs a crosswalk.
- When it is in violation of permit issued (improper parking area).
- When it does not display valid state registration plates.
- When it is parked in a place other than a color-coded lot.
- When the vehicle has over $200 or more of unpaid citations.
- When it is parked during vacation periods and its registered owner has not been authorized to do so.
- When there are three (3) or more outstanding citations against it or other notices of violations, each of which has been outstanding and redeemed for not less than seven (7) calendar days.
2. A vehicle will not be released until the individual requesting its release presents satisfactory evidence of his or her right to possession and signs accordingly. In addition, it will not be released until a Parking and Transportation Services or their duly authorized representative, certifies that all fees, fines and other charges (including, all costs of towing, notices and storage) have been paid.
3. Our contracted towing service is Sullivan’s Automotive Service, Inc. All tow fees, holds and services are handled through Sullivan’s Automotive directly.
They are located at: 84 Airport Rd. Old Town, ME 04468
Dispatch Office Phone : (207) 827-2413 / Fax : (207) 827-3616
Business Office Phone : (207) 817-0142 / Fax : (207) 817-0143
- Parking and Transportation Services is empowered to enforce these Rules.
The appeals process is in place to ensure a fair and consistent application and enforcement of The University of Maine (UM) Parking Rules. Please note that the Step 1 appeal must be submitted within 10 calendar days of the violation.
There is a two-level appeal process:
- Step 1: Review of a written appeal by an Administrative Hearing Officer.
- Step 2: Oral hearings before the Parking Citation Appeals Board (PCAB). In the absence of the Board, appeals will be heard by a representative of Parking and Transportation Services. Step 2 appeal must be submitted within 10 calendar days of the Step 1 decision.
All appellant-related information is confidential and intended for discussion only to those with a need-to-know status.
Note: Forms for initiating the review of parking citations are available at Parking and Transportation Services. Online forms can be located under our Appeals webpage.
J. We are a walking campus:
- Please drive carefully and be aware of pedestrians.
- Walking is endorsed by the American Heart Association as healthy exercise.
- We encourage parking in perimeter lots and walking to the campus interior particularly if you will be parked for 6 hours or longer.
Walking Distance Comparisons from the Center of the Mall to the Center of:
- the Memorial Union Lot 463.3 yards
- the York Village Lot 797.7 yards
- the Jenness Extension Lot 484.3 yards
- the Steam Plant Lot 354.3 yards
- the Hilltop Lot 767.0 yards
Emergency Phone Number: On Campus, Dial 911 for Police, Fire, and Ambulance: Emergency Call Box locations.
- Routine Police Business: Dial 581-4040
- Parking and Transportation Services: Dial 581-4047
Please read and remember – It might save you a parking citation on your vehicle from being towed!
- You are responsible for all violations by a vehicle displaying a permit issued to you. If you lend your vehicle or permit, proper parking is still your responsibility.
- If you transfer or sell a vehicle, please remember to remove the permit and transfer it to your new vehicle. A permit can be replaced for a $5.00 processing fee.
- If you drive another vehicle while yours is being repaired, etc., you should transfer your permit as well. If you forget to do so, a temporary permit may be obtained at UMaine Police Department and the Parking and Transportation Services Office.
- Permits should be hung from rear-view mirror. Any permit or placard not permanently affixed to vehicle should be removed during vehicle operation.
- Park only in a designated parking space, marked by white lines on the pavement. There is no parking on any University road or driveway. Vehicles parking in these areas will be ticketed and towed or immobilized.
- When the privilege to park motor vehicles has been revoked, the revocation will include all motor vehicles registered to the owner of the offending vehicle either by parking permit or state registry as subject to towing and impound until all outstanding parking citations have been paid. That revocation also applies to that individual’s parking privileges on University property regardless of vehicle used.
- Zebra stripes indicate a NO PARKING area.
- Lack of space in a convenient parking lot is not a valid excuse for violating a parking rule and regulation.
Information regarding changes, amendments, and updates of the University Parking Rules and Regulations may be found on our website. Updated 07/1/22 – citation fee amounts