2017-2018 Fellowship Award Recipients

CLAS Fellowship Award Student Recipients (Student Name, Academic Focus, Project Title, Faculty Mentor) Ariel Bouchard, psychology, “Hypoxemia in Obstructive Sleep Apnea Individuals as a Proposed Factor in the Detection of MCI,” Prof. Marie Hayes Paul Caruso, physics, “Structural Studies of Nanostructured Thin Film Materials Using High Resolution X-ray Diffraction,” Prof. Robert Lad Cassidy Gagne, psychology, […]

Read more

Physics students spelling out physics on the ground

Physics student organization wins national award

This month the University of Maine undergraduate Society of Physics Students (SPS) chapter was named an Outstanding Chapter for 2016-2017. The SPS Outstanding Chapter Award is the highest level of distinction given to chapters, with less than 10% of chapters honored annually. The UMaine SPS chapter strives to enable it’s members to become engaged leaders […]

Read more

Undergraduate research award recipients announced for the 2017-2018 academic year

The University of Maine’s Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) has announced the undergraduate recipients of the Research and Creative Activities Fellowships for the 2017–2018 academic year, and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is well represented. CUGR’s advisory committee selected 14 proposals overall from 70 student submissions to be awarded $1,000 each during the […]

Read more

howard legal photo over aerial image of umo campus

Howard Segal to give Maine Heritage Lecture, Oct. 23

The transformation of UMaine from a traditional land-grant school to the flagship campus of the University of Maine System is the subject of the annual Maine Heritage Lecture on Monday, Oct. 23. Howard Segal, professor of history, will speak on “Becoming Modern: The Transformation of the University of Maine, 1965-2015,” beginning at 4:30 p.m. with […]

Read more

marching band

CLAS Kicks Off 2017 Homecoming with a Thursday Reception

Homecoming provides a weekend of fun, food, entertainment, and reconnecting for UMaine alumni and their families and friends. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is honored to welcome our alumni. A number of events are scheduled to showcase the College’s diversity of programs and outstanding facilities. To kick-off the weekend, the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences […]

Read more

Linda and Clement McGillicuddy visit the McGillicuddy Humanities Center

On Friday, September 22, the University of Maine’s Humanities Center was officially dedicated the Clement and Linda McGillicuddy Humanities Center. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences was honored to welcome Linda and Clement for the unveiling of the new sign and for a tour of the newly renovated McGillicuddy Humanities Center and Maine Folk […]

Read more

digital humanities week logo

2017 Digital Humanities Week: STEM to STEAM

Digital Humanities Week University of Maine at Orono 2-6 October 2017 What relevance do the arts and humanities have in a world whose swift transformation seems increasingly driven by science and technology? That’s the theme of this year’s Digital Humanities Week, a conference at the University of Maine during the first week of October, […]

Read more

Adam Fortier-Brown: 10 Tips for Study Abroad Students

The following post was written by Adam Fortier-Brown and originally appeared on his blog, Adam Abroad. Adam Fortier-Brown is a Political Science/Economics student and the University of Maine’s George J Mitchell Peace Scholarship student on exchange at the University College Cork during the Fall 2017 semester. He will be posting on his blog regularly about his […]

Read more

Alumni Spotlight: Brian Payne, PhD History

A Conversation with Brian Payne As the academic job market for historians has grown increasingly competitive, PhDs who have more recently obtained tenure-track teaching positions at colleges and universities often play an important, if sometimes subtle, role within the life of history departments across the United States. Drawing from recent experience to serve as de […]

Read more

Art Education students collaborate with Maine-Wabanaki REACH for Maine Day event

The University of Maine Art Education Community Outreach are partnering with Maine-Wabanaki REACH to create an interactive storytelling event for UMaine’s annual Maine Day festivities. Art Education students have been busy this semester designing and constructing an interactive map of Maine that will be the centerpiece of an exploration of events in the shared history […]

Read more