Membership in the CFRU is open to any organization that supports the goals and objectives of the Unit. Current membership consists of wide array of organizations; including industrial forestland owners, large-family forest owners, forestland investment organizations, conservation organizations, pulp & paper mills, energy companies, and government agencies. All CFRU members are united by their desire to collaborate with the University of Maine in improving the scientific foundation of sustainable forest management.

If your organization is interested in becoming a member of CFRU, please contact Dr. Neil Thompson at the CFRU office.

Major Cooperators

Appalachian Mountain Club
Baskahegan Company
Baxter State Park
Clayton Lake Woodlands Holding, LLC
The Conservation Fund
Downeast Lakes Land Trust
EMC Holdings, LLC
Fallen Timber, LLC
The Forestland Group, LLC
Forest Society of Maine
Fresh Timber, LLC
Frontier Forest, LLC
Hancock Forest Management
Huber Engineered Woods,LLC
Irving Woodlands, LLC
Katahdin Forest Management, LLC
Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands
Mosquito, LLC


The Nature Conservancy
New England Forestry Foundation
Prentiss & Carlisle Company, Inc.
Robbins Lumber Company
Sappi North America
Sandy Gray Forest, LLC
Seven Islands Land Company
Solifor Timberland, Inc.
Sylvan Timberlands, LLC
Tree-Star Timberlands, Ltd.
Wagner Forest Management

Other Cooperators

Si Balch
David B. Field
Acadia Forestry LLC.