Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Erik J. Blomberg, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, University of Nevada
Research:  Population dynamics of avian wildlife
Teaching:  Wildlife population ecology and demographic estimation
erik.blomberg@maine.edu  207.581.2904

Aram J.K. Calhoun, Professor
Ph.D. 1996, University of Maine
Research: Vernal pool ecology and conservation, wetland ecology, stakeholder engagement and collaborative conservation
Teaching: Wetland mapping and delineation, wetland ecology and conservation, field studies in ecology
calhoun@maine.edu 207.581.3010

Stephen M. Coghlan, Jr., Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2004, State University of New York
Research: Energetic ecology of Atlantic salmon, brook trout, and smallmouth bass; fish response to dam removal; role of anadromous fishes in stream food webs; ecology of headwater streams; fish foraging; fish-habitat relations
Teaching: Statistical ecology; freshwater fisheries ecology and management
stephen.coghlan@maine.edu 207.581.2880

Daniel J. Harrison, Professor
Ph.D. 1986, University of Maine
Research: Wildlife-habitat relationships, interactions among forest management practices and wildlife populations, predator ecology
Teaching: Wildlife habitat relationships and evaluation, predator ecology
harrison@maine.edu 207.581.2867

Malcolm L. Hunter, Jr., Interim Chair, Libra Professor of Conservation Biology, and Professor
Ph.D. 1978, Oxford University
Research: Conservation biology, forest wildlife management, landscape ecology, international conservation
Teaching: Conservation biology
mhunter@maine.edu 207.581.2865

Jessica S. Jansujwicz, Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, University of Maine
Research: Human dimensions of natural resources, environmental policy, sustainability science
jessica.jansujwicz@maine.edu 207.581.9405

Cynthia S. Loftin, Associate Professor, and Unit Leader, Maine Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Ph.D. 1998, University of Florida
Research: Wetlands, landscape, and systems ecology, GIS applications
Teaching: GIS applications, waterbird ecology, and management
cynthia.loftin@maine.edu 207.581.2843

Alessio Mortelliti, Assistant Professor, and M.W.C. Advisor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Rome ” La Sapienza”, Italy
Research: Effects of land use change on vertebrates ( mammals and birds)
Teaching: Wildlife-habitat relationships, wildlife monitoring
alessio.mortelliti@maine.edu 207.581.2915

Amber Roth, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, Michigan Technological University
Research: Forest-wildlife interactions in temperate and tropical forests, forest management practices to improve declining wildlife species, migratory bird ecology, wildlife habitat best management practices, conservation planning
Teaching:  Forest wildlife management
amber.roth@maine.edu 207.581.2856

Lindsay Seward, Interim Associate Chair, Instructor, and Undergraduate Coordinator
M.S. 2002, University of Maine
Teaching: Ecology, field research techniques, natural history, habitat evaluation
lseward@maine.edu 207.581.2847

Carly Sponarski, Assistant Professor
Pd.D. 2014, Memorial University
Teaching: Human dimensions of fisheries and wildlife conservation, wildlife policy and administration
carlycs@maine.edu  207.581.2909

Joseph D. ZydlewskiProfessor, Graduate Coordinator, and Assistant Leader-Fisheries, Maine Cooperative Fish, and Wildlife Research Unit
Ph.D. 1998, University of Massachusetts
Research: Physiology, behavior, and ecology of migratory fishes both in the laboratory and in the field
Teaching: Animal migration
josephz@maine.edu 207.581.2853