Faculty and Staff

For general assistance, please call the main office at 207.581.2862.

Faculty

Erik J. Blomberg, Interim Chair and Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2012, University of Nevada
Research:  Population dynamics of avian wildlife
Teaching:  Wildlife population ecology and demographic estimation
erik.blomberg@maine.edu  207.581.2904

Noah Charney, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2010, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Research: Landscape Ecology, Climate Change Impact Modeling, Vernal Pool Conservation, Urban Ecology, Natural History, Unisexual Salamanders
Teaching: Conservation Biology, Wildlife Ecology
noah.charney@maine.edu

Stephen M. Coghlan, Jr., Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2004, State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Research: Energetic ecology of Atlantic salmon, brook trout, and smallmouth bass; fish response to dam removal; the role of anadromous fishes in stream food webs; ecology of headwater streams; fish foraging; fish-habitat relations; sustenance and recreational fishing; energetics of homesteading
Teaching: Ecological Statistics; Freshwater Fisheries Ecology and Management; General Ecology; Biophysical Economics
stephen.coghlan@maine.edu 207.581.2880

Daniel J. Harrison, Professor – NOTE:  Not currently accepting new graduate students
Ph.D. 1986, University of Maine
Research: Wildlife-habitat relationships, interactions among forest management practices and wildlife populations, predator ecology
Teaching: Wildlife habitat relationships and evaluation, predator ecology
harrison@maine.edu 207.581.2867

Jessica S. Jansujwicz, Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, University of Maine
Research: Human dimensions of natural resources, environmental policy, sustainability science
jessica.jansujwicz@maine.edu 207.581.9405

Cynthia S. Loftin, Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1998, University of Florida
Research: Wetlands, landscape, and systems ecology, GIS applications
cynthia.loftin@maine.edu

Sabrina Morano, Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2016, University of Nevada
Research: Habitat use and population dynamics of large mammals
sabrina.morano@maine.edu 207.581.2908

Alessio Mortelliti, Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2008, University of Rome ” La Sapienza,” Italy
Research: Effects of land-use change on vertebrates (mammals and birds)
Teaching: Wildlife-habitat relationships, wildlife monitoring
alessio.mortelliti@maine.edu 207.581.2915

Christina Murphy, Assistant Professor, and Assistant Unit Leader-Fisheries, Maine Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Ph. D. 2019, Oregon State University
Research:  Top-down and bottom-up responses to disturbance, especially hydrological alteration. This includes evaluations of nutrient, light and habitat availability, phytoplankton, zooplankton, benthic insects, fish pathogens, and diverse fish assemblages.
Teaching:  Fish ecology and conservation
christina.murphy@maine.edu

Amber Roth, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2012, Michigan Technological University
Research: Forest-wildlife interactions in temperate and tropical forests, forest management practices to improve declining wildlife species, migratory bird ecology, wildlife habitat best management practices, conservation planning
Teaching:  Forest wildlife management
amber.roth@maine.edu 207.581.2856

Lindsay Seward, Instructor and Undergraduate Coordinator
M.S. 2002, University of Maine
Teaching: Ecology, field research techniques, natural history, habitat evaluation
lseward@maine.edu 207.581.2847

Joseph D. Zydlewski, Professor; Graduate Coordinator; and Assistant Unit Leader-Fisheries, Maine Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit
Ph.D. 1998, University of Massachusetts
Research: Physiology, behavior, and ecology of migratory fishes both in the laboratory and in the field
Teaching: Animal migration
josephz@maine.edu 207.581.2853