Three of the four Mitchell awards are: a SOE faculty, a PhD student and an external partner

The Mitchell Center has recognized the outstanding contributions of teams, mentors, students, and partners via annual awards. This year’s award nominations were among the strongest ever submitted, which made the review committee’s decisions harder than ever. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients

Outstanding mentorship of students in sustainability research
Caroline Noblet, Associate Professor, School of Economics, University of Maine

Outstanding contribution of a student to sustainability research
Jasmine Lamb, Ph.D. Student, Ecology and Environmental Sciences, University of Maine
Mentors: SOE Drs. Caroline Noblet and Sharon Klein

Outstanding contributions toward the development of a solution by a research team
Ash Protection Collaboration Across Wabanakik Team (APCAW)
Team members: Pari Rahimzadeh-Bajgiran, Suzanne Greenlaw, Emily Francis, Tyler Everett, John Daigle, Ella McDonald

Outstanding contribution by an external partner to sustainability research
Gary Fearon, Director of Housing, Penobscot Indian Nation
Collaborators: SOE Drs. Sharon Klein and Caroline Noblet