UMS Scientific Advisory Board

The UMS Scientific Advisory Board, established by University of Maine System Chancellor Dan Malloy, was formed to stay fully abreast of fast-breaking scientific and medical developments in areas relevant for universities and the COVID-19 pandemic, including vaccine development, diagnostic and serology testing, antiviral treatments, transmission mitigation, contact tracing, and others. The board meets with the UMS Planning Group twice a week.

The team has provided evidence-based information on the COVID-19 pandemic in briefs for the Chancellor and serves as an expert resource to the 2020 Safe Return Planning Committee to discuss science-based approaches to safely welcome students, faculty, staff and the public back to our universities. The team has also presented to the Maine Legislature and other groups, including UMaine Faculty Senate Representatives and the UMaine VPR Research Continuation Task Force.

Members of the UMS Scientific Advisory Board

  • Melissa Maginnis (lead)

    Associate Professor of Microbiology, University of Maine

    Maginnis Biography

  • Kristy Townsend

    Associate Professor of Neurobiology

    Townsend Biography

  • Caitlin Howell

    Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Maine

    Howell Biography

  • Robert Wheeler

    Associate Professor of Microbiology, University of Maine

    Wheeler Biography

  • Sara Huston

    Associate Research Professor: Chronic Disease Epidemiologist, University of Southern Maine

    Huston Biography

  • Joan Ferrini-Mundy (chair)

    President of the University of Maine

    Ferrini-Mundy Biography