Maine Press Association announces 2017–2018 scholars

The Maine Press Association, in collaboration with the University of Maine, recently awarded 2017–2018 Maine Press Association Scholarships to two UMaine undergraduate students.

This year’s recipients are Kathryn Caulfield of Naples, Maine and Aliya Uteovoa of Astana, Kazakhstan.

Both are senior journalism majors who work for The Maine Campus, the school’s independent student newspaper. Uteovoa serves as the arts and culture editor, and Caulfield is the head copy editor.

Both look forward to pursuing careers in journalism following graduation this year, and they both attended and participated in MPA’s 2017 Fall Conference in Bar Harbor.

The Maine Press Association Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students enrolled in a Maine college or university who plan to pursue a career in journalism. Applicants must meet minimum grade-point average requirements, be seniors, and demonstrate financial need.

Applications for the 2018–2019 MPA Scholarship can be obtained by emailing Michael Socolow,

More about the MPA is online.