Ed Grew awarded medal from Russian Mineralogical Society

The Russian Mineralogical Society has elected Research Professor Edward S. Grew as an Foreign Honorary Member.  He joins Peter Wyllie (Cal Tech), Peter Burns (Notre Dame) and Robert Hazen (Carnegie Institution) as the 4th current Foreign Honorary Member in the United States.  The election was held at the 200th Anniversary meeting of the Society in St. Petersburg, Russia on October 10, 2017.  The Society, founded in 1817, is the oldest of the current national mineralogical societies in the world. During its 200-year history, the Society has elected a total of 145 Foreign Honorary Members, including 18 from the United States.  Previous U.S. Honorary Members include James Dwight Dana and Norman Bowen.  Congratulations, Ed!

A longer story is here: https://umaine.edu/news/blog/2017/10/19/umaine-mineralogist-elected-foreign-honorary-member-russian-mineralogical-society/