Black Bear Orono Express Shuttle!              
Click here for schedule

We are pleased to announce the operation of a free shuttle service that provides much-needed transportation for our students, staff and visitors between the University and the Town of Orono. The Black Bear Orono Express Shuttle is the result of a joint effort among the University of Maine, the Town of Orono, the Orono Village Association, the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), the Maine Dept. of Transportation, the City of Bangor (BAT), the Bangor Area Comprehensive Transportation System (BACTS) and Orchard Trails.   

This shuttle service helps the University and the Town of Orono reduce carbon emissions, congested traffic and crowded parking lots, and help to create a healthier climate and environment for all our constituents. The shuttle’s schedule begins as early in the day as 6:55 am on weekdays, and ends at 9:55 pm, providing thirty loops between the two communities throughout the day during the academic year.

The responsibility of Parking and Transportation Committee is to advise the President and other senior administrators on policies and practices related to parking and motor vehicle rules and to explore other methods related to the management of vehicle traffic, parking, and transportation services.  The committee makes recommendations concerning the resolution of problems and concern in those areas in keeping with accepted University planning documents and reviews questions of pedestrian and vehicle safety, not within the scope of the other committees.

2016-17 Committee Members

Daniel Dixon, Chair

Sharon Buchanan, PEAC representative

Geremy Chubbuck, Facilities Management representative

Jeff Hunt, Deans of Students representative

Brian Frederick, Faculty Senate representative

Roland LaCroix, Public Safety representative

Melinda Pelletier, CEAC representative

Amy Sturgeon, Disability Support Services

Tom Spitz, Parking Services representative

Meredith Stewart, Student Government Representative (undergraduate)

Harold (Trey) Stewart, Student Government Representative (Graduate)

Vacant, HR representative

Vacant, EEO representative