Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program

Site Navigation:

Public Events - Maryann Hartman Awards

Named for the late Professor Maryann Hartman, outstanding teacher and scholar in Speech Communication at the University of Maine, these awards honor the spirit, achievement, and zest for life that Hartman epitomized. They recognize distinguished Maine women and their accomplishments in the arts, politics, business, education and community service. The work of the women selected provides inspiration to others and demonstrates the levels of attainment now possible for women. Presented annually, the awards increase campus and community awareness of contemporary women’s accomplishments.

After receiving a Ph.D. from Bowling Green State University in 1969, Maryann Hartman joined the University of Maine faculty as an assistant professor and director of forensics. A pioneer in the field of oral interpretation, Hartman studied communicative arts from historical, rhetorical, and aesthetic perspectives. Her research includes comparisons of language patterns of Maine women and men born before 1900; oral autobiographies of Maine women born before 1900; and the use of oral interpretation to influence public policy. Teacher, scholar, advocate, friend, mother, a woman of courage and vitality, Maryann Hartman died of cancer in 1980 at the age of 53.

Most Maryann Hartman awards ceremonies are available on video and DVD, click here for listing.

Jennifer Finney Boylan
Elinor Goldberg
Merlene Sanborn
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
JoAnn Bourque

Constance Carter
Susan Davies
Dora Anne Mills
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Sarah Eaton

Candace Austin
Shenna Bellows
Francine Garland Stark
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Daniella Runyambo
Heather Sawyer

Layne Gregory
Fatuma Hussein
Judy Kellogg Markowsky
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Katelyn Jacques and Amy Jar Wei Yeung

Catherine Beller-McKenna
Ilze Petersons
Kirsten Walter
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Codi Booher

Alicia Anstead
Sally Jacobs
Harriet H. Price
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Hannah Hudson

Mary Cathcart
Sarah Hudson
Lee Sharkey
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Amelia Butman
Hazel Stark

Judith Isaacson
Jean Lavigne
Dorothy Schwartz
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Brooke Hayne

Denise Altvater
Vivianne Holmes
Leigh Saufley
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Safia Nur

Dahlov Ipcar
Joyce Longcore
Lillian O’Brien
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Mallory Cyr

Elizabeth (Libby) Mitchell
Valerie Osborne
Jean Symonds
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Alicia McConkey

Phyllis Austin
Laura Fortman
Tabitha King
Young Women’s Social Justice Award:
Lindsay Richardson

Theodora Kalikow
Ruth Lockhart
Jude Spacks

Donna Loring
Glenna Smith
Esperanza Stancioff

Eleanor Humes Haney
Lucy Poulin
Eleanor Sargent
Barbara Cooney Porter

Constance Hunting
Madeline Giguere
Dale McCormick

Judy Guay
Trish Riley
Clarice Yentsch

Gladys Hasty Carroll
Kay Gardner
Katherine Musgrave

Mary Mitchell Gabriel
Emily Muir
Alice Stewart

Joan Brooks
Winnie MacDonald
Mary Philbrook

Glenna Atwood
Constance Carlson
Harriet Henry

Lilianne Labbé
Gilda Nardone
Margaret Chase Smith

1990 (fall)
Eunice Bauman Nelson
Kathryn McInnis
Elizabeth Russell

1990 (spring)
Mildred “Brownie” Schrumpf
Olympia J. Snowe
Mabel Sine Wadsworth

JoAnn Fritsche
Joan Benoit Samuelson
Dorothy Clarke Wilson

Doris Twitchell Allen
Eileen Farrell
Lenore Thomas Straus

Berenice Abbott
Catherine Cutler
May Sarton

Image Description: Dr. Maryann Hartman

Back to Public Events


Contact Information

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program
101 Fernald Hall
Orono, Maine 04469
Phone: (207) 581-1228 | Fax: (207) 581-1218
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System