Skip Navigation
Return to Layout View | Home | A-Z Directory | my UMaine | MaineStreet | Campus Map | Calendar
Follow UMaine on Twitter | Join UMaine on Facebook | Watch UMaine on YouTube | Admissions | Parents & Family | Apply | Give Now | Emergency

UMaine Research

Site Navigation:

University Research Council

The University Research Council (URC) has been established to provide input to the Vice President for Research (VPR) on strategic issues related to research and scholarship activity.  Although the URC is not directly involved in policy making, it is expected to provide recommendations to the VPR on short-term and long-term research priorities, as well as on such topics as indirect cost recovery; research faculty; postdoctoral, graduate, and undergraduate research activities; intellectual property and technology transfer; Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; and publicizing research successes.

The URC has a strong interest in evaluation, which is involved in planning exercises as well as in evaluating the effectiveness of programs and related policies.

The URC has widespread representation and is composed of the following units, with current individuals and duration of appointment:

Faculty Senate, Chair of the Research and Scholarship Committee
Emmanuel Boss
Mauricio Pereira da Cunha

College of Business (2 members)
Pankaj Agrrawal (2 years)
Niclas Erhardt (3 years)

College of Education and Human Development (2 members)
Susan Gardner
Shihfen Tu (2 years)

College of Engineering (3 members)
Vince Caccese (3 years)
Per Garder (1 year)
David Neivandt (3 years)

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (4 members)
Kate Beard (3 years)
Alex Grab (1 year)
Laura Lindenfeld (3 years)
Alan Rosenwasser (2 years)

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture (5 members)
Kathleen Bell (3 years)
Yong Chen (3 years)
Doug Gardner (3 years)
Lenard Kaye (3 years)
Jasmine Saros (3 years)

Cooperative Extension
Jason Bolton (3 years)

Deans/Associate Deans (2 members)
Alan Kezis
Mary Mahoney-O’Neill

Research Centers and Institutes (4 members)
David Hart (3 years)
Rosemary Smith (2 years)
Robert Wagner (3 years)
Vacant (3 years)

Other Members-

Dean of the Graduate School & Associate Provost
Daniel Sandweiss

Dean of Libraries
Joyce Rumery

Director of the Center for Undergraduate Research
Ali Abedi

Director of the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Michael Hastings

Executive Vice President and Provost
Jeffrey Hecker

Graduate Student
Hollie Smith (1 year)

Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development
Jake Ward


Contact Information

UMaine Research
5703 Alumni Hall, Room 209
Orono, ME 04469
Phone: 207.581.1506 | Fax: 207.581.1300
The University of Maine
Orono, Maine 04469
A Member of the University of Maine System