Electric Vehicle Pilot Program

The University of Maine Faculty/Staff and Resident Student Electric Vehicle Pilot Program

  • The UMaine EV parking permit is currently only available to UMaine individuals who already qualify for a blue permit.
  • The UMaine Blue Qualified EV parking permit will cost $200.00 per calendar year after approval and a designated space is assigned.
    • The current 28 Blue Qualified EV spaces are located in:
      • Aubert Hall parking lot – 2 spaces
      • ASCC parking lot – 3 spaces
      • Gannett/Cutler parking lot (east side) – 6 spaces
      • Gannett/Cutler parking lot (west side) – 4 spaces
      • Jenness South parking lot – 7 spaces
      • Libby parking lot – 4 spaces
      • Smith parking lot – 2 spaces
  • Residents Red parking permit holders should contact Auxiliary Enterprises (Sally Clark 207.581.4506) for access to a charger and rules.
    • Current Red Qualified EV spaces are located in:
      • Estabrook Hall parking lot – one space.
      • Somerset Hall parking lot – one space.
        • Users are allowed a maximum usage time of 3 or 4 hours.
        • Users are allowed 30 minutes to move their vehicle once charging has ended (as indicated by LEDs on the charger).
        • Users will be issued a citation if these requirements are not met.
  • All others EVs can use the Pay-As-You-Charge Level-2 Charger located at either the entrance to the Advanced Structures and Composite Center or in the AMC/Stevens parking lot.
    • See the Public EV Charging on Campus link below.
  • There are two types of electric vehicle that qualify for the UMaine Faculty/Staff EV parking permit: Battery Electric Vehicles (BEV) and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEV). Both can be charged from an electrical outlet.
    • A battery electric vehicle (BEV) runs entirely on a battery and electric drive train, without a conventional internal combustion engine. These vehicles must be plugged into an external source of electricity to recharge their batteries.
    • A plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) runs primarily on a battery that is recharged by plugging into an external source of electricity. PHEVs are also equipped with an internal combustion engine that can recharge the battery and/or replace the electric drive train when the battery is low and more power is required.
  • Non-Electric Vehicles may not park in Electric Vehicle Designated Areas.
  • Only BEVs or PHEVs with valid UMaine EV parking permits are permitted to use the electrical outlets associated with UMaine’s Level-1 EV parking spaces.
  • Upon receipt of an UMaine EV parking permit, the permit holder will be provided a reserved space in an Electric Vehicle Designated Area.
  • An EV permit-holder’s reserved space will remain until the next annual registration period.
  • Parking in another EV permit holder’s reserved space will result in a ticket and towing of the offending vehicle.
  • UMaine EV parking permits will also allow the holder to park in any regular Staff (Blue) or Commuter (Black) parking lot on campus.
  • The EV permit may be used in any vehicle registered to that particular permit holder and must be displayed in the vehicle while parked on campus.
  • Between November 1 and May the Winter Parking Ban is in effect. All EV parking spaces are closed to parking between the hours of 12:00 midnight and 6:00 AM. The Bridge Tennis Court lot (commuter section only) and College Ave South lots are available for temporary parking during these hours.



There is a known issue with some EV charging cords tripping 120V GFCI outlets.
GFCI outlets have to be installed on exterior receptacles as part of the electrical safety code.
If the EV charging cord for your vehicle causes tripping on 120V GFCI outlets, then you will not be able to charge your vehicle on the university’s exterior outlets.
If your EV is not compatible with 120V GFCI outlets, please reach out to your EV manufacturer to see if they offer any solutions or an alternative charger that is compatible with 120V GFCI outlets.
Note that the university offers several publicly accessible Level-2 EV charging stations on campus. These are located in the Stevens and ASCC Parking Lots:


Symbol for Electric Vehicle Charging


Click here to access the EV Charging on Campus – Office of Sustainability webpage

Click here to access the Public EV Charging on Campus webpage


For more information contact Daniel Dixon at 207.581.1571 or daniel.dixon@maine.edu