Twenty-six faculty members receive tenure and/or promotion

At the University of Maine, 26 faculty members have received tenure and/or promotion this spring. 

This annual announcement is an important opportunity to recognize faculty members’ outstanding achievements and contributions in teaching, scholarship and research, and community engagement, says UMaine President Joan Ferrini-Mundy. “We congratulate them for their leadership, innovation, and focus on putting students and stakeholders first, and look forward to their future contributions.”

Tenure for 17 of the faculty members was approved by the University of Maine System Board of Trustees on March 22.

“The high-caliber faculty UMaine attracts and retains bring exceptional experiences in the classroom, in the labs, in their fields of study, and in the community,” says Provost John Volin. “The strengths of UMaine’s faculty contribute to the life transformative experiences for our students and to the overall success of the university as it fulfills its mission statewide and beyond.”

Promoted to Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • David Bradley, Mathematics
  • Robert Meulenberg, Physics and Astronomy

 College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture

  • Heather Leslie, Marine Sciences
  • Judy Walker, Communication Sciences and Disorders

 Honors College

  • Margaret Killinger, Honors 

Promoted to Extension Professor
Cooperative Extension

  • Jason Bolton, Cooperative Extension
  • Beth Calder, Cooperative Extension and School of Food and Agriculture
  • Mitchell Mason, Cooperative Extension

Promoted to Research Professor
College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture and Climate Change Institute

  • Bradfield Lyon, Climate Analysis

Promoted to Associate Professor with Tenure
College of Education and Human Development

  • Elizabeth Hufnagel, Science Education
  • Christopher Nightingale, Physical Education and Athletic Training
  • Deborah Rooks-Ellis, Special Education

College of Engineering

  • Caitlin Howell, Bioengineering
  • Kimberly Huguenard, Ocean and Marine Engineering
  • Thomas Schwartz, Chemical Engineering

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Ryan Dippre, English

 College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture

  • Alicia Cruz-Uribe, Petrology and Mineralogy
  • Adam Daigneault, Forest, Conservation, and Recreation Policy
  • Anil Kizhakkepurakkal, Forest Operations
  • Jennifer Perry, Food Microbiology
  • Aaron Putnam, Earth Sciences
  • Juan Romero, Animal Nutrition
  • Deborah Saber, Nursing
  • Carly Sponarski, Human Dimensions of Wildlife and Fisheries Conservation

 College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture, and Honors College

  • Sally Molloy, Genomics

 Maine Business School

  • C. Matt Graham, Management Information Systems

Contact: Margaret Nagle,