Twenty-one UMaine faculty members receive tenure and/or promotion

Twenty-one University of Maine faculty have received tenure and/or promotion. The faculty members were nominated by UMaine President Susan J. Hunter based on a peer and administrative review of their successful teaching, research and public service, and approved by the University of Maine System Board of Trustees.

“UMaine’s world-class faculty are at the heart of the success and greatness of Maine’s public research university,” Hunter says. “They are key to the UMaine student experience and the fulfillment of the university’s mission. Their significant nationally and internationally recognized contributions in teaching, research, scholarship and community engagement make a difference throughout Maine and beyond. Our annual tenure and promotion provides an opportunity to recognize the depth and breadth of the excellence of the UMaine faculty.”

Promoted to professor
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Alice Bruce, Chemistry
  • Nicholas Giudice, Computing and Information Science
  • Kirsten Jacobson, Philosophy

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture

  • Christopher Gerbi, Earth and Climate Sciences
  • Nancy Hall, Communication Sciences and Disorders
  • Aaron Weiskittel, Forest Biometrics and Modeling


Promoted to Extension professor
Cooperative Extension

  • Esperanza Stancioff, Cooperative Extension


Promoted to associate research professor
College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture

  • Yousoo Han, Forest Resources


Promoted to associate professor with tenure
College of Engineering

  • Vincent Weaver, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Xudong Zheng, Mechanical Engineering

Maine Business School

  • Sebastian Lobe, Finance

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

  • Cynthia Isenhour, Anthropology and Climate Change
  • Gregory Ondo, Art
  • Micah Pawling, History and Native American Studies
  • Laura Rickard, Communication and Journalism

College of Natural Sciences, Forestry, and Agriculture

  • Timothy Bowden, Aquaculture
  • Jianjun Hao, Applied Plant and Pathology
  • Sharon Klein, Economics
  • Balunkeswar Nayak, Food Science
  • Mary Shea, Nursing


Granted tenure at current rank of associate professor
College of Engineering

  • Wilhelm Alexander Friess, Mechanical Engineering

Contact: Margaret Nagle, 207.581.3745