2017 CUGR Summer Fellowship winners announced

The University of Maine’s Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) has announced the 2017 CUGR Summer Fellowship winners.

The center’s advisory committee selected six proposals from 28 student submissions to be awarded $3,000 each during the summer semester.

This year’s winners are:

  • Meaghan Delcourt, psychology, “Examination of Electrodermal Reactivity in Self-Injurious Behaviors,” advised by Emily Haigh;
  • Taylor Delp, psychology, “Sleep Disturbance as a Biomarker for Cognitive Decline in Aging,” advised by Marie Hayes;
  • Jennifer Field, marine sciences, “Glacier Bay National Park Corals: Comparative Reproduction Between Deep and Shallow Red Tree Corals,” advised by Rhian Waller;
  • Chloe Lilly, biological engineering, “Engineering Polymer Infused Paper for a Self-contained Bacterial Diagnostic System,” advised by Caitlin Howell;
  • Ashley Soucy, biochemistry, “Intracellular Ca2+ Flux is Required for a Post-Attachment Step in JCPyV Infection,” advised by Melissa Maginnis; and
  • Caroline Spangenberg, zoology, “Impact of the Acanthocephalan Parasite Profilicollis Botulus on Estradiol Levels in the Invasive Green Crab, Carcinus Maenas: A Potential Biological Control Organism,” advised by Ian Bricknell.

The awards will be presented during the 2017 UMaine Student Symposium on April 24 at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor.

For more information, visit the CUGR website or email cugr@maine.edu.