Notable Alumni

Shamarukh Mohiuddin: alumna and leader dedicated to women’s economic empowerment

Shamarukh Mohiuddin is a self-described optimist, entrepreneur and dreamer, and has a goal of making positive social change.

The native of Dhaka, Bangladesh graduated from the University of Maine in 2003 with a degree in international affairs in economics, a second major in financial economics and a minor in studio art. Today, she is the director of the Economic Empowerment Program at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation in Washington, D.C.

“I work with global businesses to address challenges faced by society,” says Mohiuddin. “My focus lately has been to help businesses design programs to support women’s economic empowerment and financial inclusion.”

The programs she helps design are intended to “help the business community learn about the underlying causes of social challenges and to help use their core competence in solving these challenges.”

“Women still don’t have equal access to economic opportunities and two billion people in the world still lack access to modern financial services,” she says. So she is working to overcome these issues through her career.

Mohiuddin is inspired by “leaders who can make tough decisions and bring others along.” In turn, she tries to inspire others by being a strong leader herself.

Read more of Mohiuddin’s story here.

Spirit of Maine Achievement Award


The Alumni Association’s Spirit of Maine Achievement Award is given to an alumnus/alumna who has graduated in the last fifteen years and whose accomplishments, commitment, and initiative in a profession, business, or public service arena reflect the high standards and vitality of the University of Maine.

2016 Recipient

Spirit of Maine recipient Dr. Ewa Kleczyk ’01, ’03G was recognized for her successful career in the pharmaceutical marketing research field. As a young professional, she provides data, analysis, and other aspects of the pharmaceutical industry, and has received numerous awards and recognition. She also mentors and offers guidance to young people, both in her field and on the UMaine campus.


Ester Serrão

serraoDistinguished University of Maine alumna Ester Serrão is one of 11 U.S. and international marine scientists named by the Pew Charitable Trusts as 2017 Pew Marine Fellows to “seek solutions to the problems affecting the world’s oceans.”

Read her research profile .

Bernard Lown ’42 Alumni Humanitarian Award


Riaz.crop_-225x300The Bernard Lown ’42 Alumni Humanitarian Award recognizes University of Maine graduates who distinguish themselves in their service to humanity. It is named in honor of Nobel Laureate Dr. Bernard Lown ’42, who has devoted his life to world disarmament and the advancement of human health.

2016 Recipient

The University of Maine Alumni Association honored Mian Riaz with the Bernard Lown ’42 Humanitarian Award. Dr. Riaz directs the Food Protein Research and Development Center at Texas A&M University and has demonstrated a commitment to sharing his expertise in extrusion technology with people in the developing world. He has coordinated numerous international workshops and symposia related to the use of extrusion technology, which can help to reduce food insecurity, and worked to improve the nutritional quality of foods for people as well as feed for animals and aquaculture.


@UMaineInternationalAlumni Like us on Facebook

Iva Jugovic: UMaine alumna shares her journey from Serbia to Switzerland

The recipient of a full-tuition scholarship to UMaine, Jugovic quickly took an interest in the health-related sciences and began working closely with Alice Bruce, an associate professor of chemistry.

Bruce became Jugovic’s mentor and a strong supporter of her academic development. Under her guidelines, Jugovic began her capstone research as a third-year student and continued her project until the end of her studies.

Throughout her undergraduate studies at UMaine, Jugovic remained active within both academic and extracurricular spheres. She worked as a resident assistant, teaching assistant for organic chemistry, and Maine Learning Assistant for inorganic chemistry and pre-calculus.

Jugovic was a recipient of numerous awards including the 2015 President Winthrop C. Libby/Reverend Pavlos T. Taiganidies Award for extraordinary contributions to international relations, with additional accolades related to scholastic achievement and moral leadership. Jugovic is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, the first national honor society and Phi Mu Epsilon. In 2015, she graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry and a minor in Spanish.

Read more of her story and interview here.