Clubs, Organizations, & Committees at the Graduate School

Committees 

All senators need to join at least one committee, and anyone outside of GSG is welcome to join committees (besides the finance committee). Find more information about all the committees here.

Clubs & Organizations

Interested in joining an existing club? Check out this list of clubs and organizations recognized by the Graduate Student Government! Don’t see a club or organization you’re interested in joining? Consider starting your own organization. Contact the GSG Grants Officer (gsg.grants@umaine.edu) for more info.

Iranian Graduate Student Association (IGSA)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IGSAUMaine/ 

Contact: igsa.umaine@gmail.com

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Ali Abedi (Contact here: https://bit.ly/3mEmfvN) and Dr. Mahdi Tajvidi (mehdi.tajvidi@maine.edu)

President: simin.moavenzadeh@maine.edu 

Vice President: zahra.ameli@maine.edu 

Treasurer: amirhossein.shahlaeegilan@maine.edu 

Marine Sciences Professional Development Club

President: sarah.risley1@maine.edu

Faculty Advisor: Heather Hamlin (heather.hamlin@maine.edu)

Center for Film Analysis Club 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UMaine-Center-for-Film-Analysis-111718820394512/

Contact: umainecenterforfilmanalysis@gmail.com

Chemical Engineering Graduate Student Club

Contact: aileen.co@maine.edu

Coasts, Oceans, Ports, and Rivers Institute (COPRI) UMaine Chapter

Chair: Reilley Hicks (reilly.hicks@maine.edu)

Faculty Advisor: Kimberly Huguenard (kimberly.huguenard@maine.edu)

Facebook / Instagram: @umainecoastal

Graduate Earth Sciences Club

President: erik.k.anderson@maine.edu

Faculty Advisor: Aaron Putnam (aaron.putnam@maine.edu)

School of Marine Sciences Club

President: Robyn Linner: robyn.linner@maine.edu

Faculty Advisor: Heather Hamlin (heather.hamlin@maine.edu)

Student Development Association

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UMaineSDA 

UMaine American Fisheries Society (Fish Club)

Email: umaineafs@gmail.com

President: Kory Whittum (kory.whittum@maine.edu)

Advisors: Dr. Joe Zydlewski: josephz@maine.edu and Dr. Christina Murphy: christina.murphy@maine.edu 

Website: https://www.facebook.com/UMaineAFSStudent/

UMaine Chapter National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/UMaineNSBE 
Contact: nsbe@maine.edu

University of Maine Association for Computing Machinery-Women (ACM-W) student chapter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ACMWUMaine 

Contact: sepideh.ghanavati@maine.edu


Chemistry Graduate Students Club
Clinical Psychology Diversity Committee

Communication and Journalism Graduate Student Association      (CMJ GSA)
English Graduate Student Association (EGSA)
Forestry Graduate Student’s Club (FGSC)
Graduate Board Game Club
Graduate Business Association (GBA)

Graduate Math Club
History Graduate Student Association (HGSA)
International Network on Offshore Renewable Energy Maine Chapter (INORE)

Marxist Theory and Action Committee

Spire: The Maine Journal of Conservation and Sustainability

UMaine Business School Chapter of National Association of Women MBAs (NAWMBA)

UMaine Fish Club
UMaine Student Organization for Society and Natural Resources (SOSNR)
UMaine Women in Academia