This agenda will be updated with speakers and other details as they become available. 

This event will be from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Specific times of each session will be updated when finalized. 

  • 8:00 a.m.     Registration and Poster Setup
  • 9:00 a.m.     Welcome & Opening Remarks (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Ali Abedi, University of Maine Associate Vice President for Research
  • 9:15 a.m.     Basic Research in the DoD (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Bindu Nair, Director, Basic Research Office, OUSD (R&E)
  • 9:35 a.m.     DEPSCoR Overview (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Jennifer Becker, DEPSCoR Program Manager
  • 9:55 a.m.     Tri-Service Basic Research Office Overview (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Irina Pala, Deputy Division Chief, Science and Engineering, Air Force Office of Scientific
      Research (AFOSR)
    • Dr. Denise Ford, Terminal Effects (TE) PM Solid Mechanics, DEVCOM Army Research Laboratory
    • Dr. David R. Gonzalez, Aerodynamics Research, Office of Naval Research (ONR)
  • 10:50 a.m.   Break
  • 11:00 a.m.   Working with the DoD: Basic Research Program Officers Panel (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Fred Leve, Dynamical Systems and Control Theory, AFOSR
    • Dr. Evan Runnerstrom, Sciences of Extreme Material (SEM) PM Materials Design, DEVCOM ARL
    • Dr. Albena Ivanisevic, Humans in Complex Systems (HCxS) PM Biotronics, DEVCOM ARL
    • Dr. Mike Traweek, Multi-modal, Maritime Sensing Systems, (ONR)
  • 12:00 p.m.   Networking Lunch
  • 1:00 p.m.     STEM Outreach Panel (Osher Auditorium)
    • Dr. Kimberly Jacoby Morris, STEM Program Manager, Summer Faculty Fellowship Program Manager/COR, ASSURE Program Manager, (AFOSR)
    • Ms. Ivory Chaney, CCPI Technology Integration & Outreach, PM Educational Outreach, DEVCOM
    • Dr. Ming-Jen Pan, Acoustics Materials Research, (ONR)
  • 2:00 p.m.     Poster Session (Lower Ground Floor)
  • 3:00 p.m.     Break
  • 3:15 p.m.     Recap and Next Steps (Osher Auditorium)
  • 3:30 p.m.     Reception and Concurrent Speed Networking Session (must submit research menu in advance for speed networking)
    • Air Force
      • Dr. Gregg Abate | Unsteady Aerodynamics and
        Turbulent Flows
      • Dr. Warren Adams | Mathematical Optimization
      • Dr. Erik Blasch | Dynamic Data and Information
      • Dr. Fariba Fahroo | Computational Mathematics
      • Dr. Fred Leve | Dynamical Systems and Control
      • Dr. Chiping Li | Energy, Combustion and Non-
        Equilibrium Thermodynamics
    • Army
      • Dr. Denise Ford | Solid Mechanics
      • Dr. Albena Ivanisevic | Biotronics
      • Dr. Evan Runnerstrom | Materials Design
      • Dr. Margaret Shea | Atomic and Molecular Physics
      • Dr. Micheline Strand | Genetics
    • Navy
      • Dr. David Gonzalez | Aerodynamics Research
      • Dr. Ming-Jen Pan | Acoustics Materials Research
      • Dr. Mike Traweek | Multi-modal, Maritime Sensing
  • 5:00 p.m.     Close

Please check back for a finalized and downloadable agenda.

Return to Main Event Page