2017 UMaine Student Symposium (UMSS) Award Recipients

The free public event, which was organized by UMaine Graduate Student Government and the Center for Undergraduate Research (CUGR) as part of Maine Impact Week, provided an opportunity for community members to meet student researchers and scholars, see their posters and exhibits, hear their presentations, and view short performances and art.

1st Place:

  • Biomedical Sciences:Sarai Smith, RNA-seq Analysis of Cluster E Phage Ukulele, advised by Sally Molloy (Top Overall Winner)
  • Allied Health:Katarina Querfurth, Paige LeBlond, Jenna Nichols, Belinda Kirkpatrick, For Hospitalized In-patients, What Evidence-based Interventions will Reduce the Feelings of Stress, Anxiety and/or Fear Brought on by the Hospital Environment, advised by Patricia Poirier
  • Arts:Meaghan Byrnes, Eric Morrison, Austin Haughton, Jacob Hall, Liam Reading, iSWOOP, advised by Michael Scott
  • Education:Toni Kaplan, Development of a Dynamic Multisensory Interface to Provide Accessible Biological Diagrams for Blind and Low Vision Students, advised by Nick Giudice
  • Engineering and Information Science:William Breeding, Homogenous Integration of Iron Oxide Nanoparticles into Cellulose Nanofibers, advised by Michael Mason
  • Natural Sciences:Christian Zwirner, Defensive Mechanisms of Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor in Host Response to Candida albicans Infection,advised by Robert Wheeler
  • Physical Sciences:Samuel Borer, Characterizing Liquid Argon Time Projection Chambers for Neutrino Physics,advised by Saima Farooq
  • Social Sciences:Angelina Iannazzi, Longitudinal Imagined Interactions Between Christians and Atheists,advised by Jordan LaBouff
  • Innovation Award:William Breeding, Banton Heithoff, Madeline Mazjanis and Amber Boutiette (undergraduate), Pediatric Respiratory Simulation, advised by Caitlin Howell
  • IEEE Award:Armando Ayes (undergraduate), Temperature Compensated Langasite Surface Acoustic Wave Devices for High Temperature Operation, advised by Mauricio da Cunha