Climate Leadership Commitments

In February 2007, the University of Maine became a charter signatory of the American College & University Presidents’ Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), who’s main supporting organization is Second Nature.

Many colleges and universities have signed to date, recognizing their unique responsibility to serve as role models for their communities and to develop solutions to combat global warming.

In 2015, the ACUPCC was renamed the Climate Leadership Commitments, still supported by Second Nature. The Climate Leadership Commitments are defined by the parts: The Climate Commitment, The Carbon Commitment and The Resilience Commitment.

Aerial photograph of the University of Maine

The Climate Commitment

The Climate Commitment integrates carbon neutrality with climate resilience and provides a systems approach to mitigating and adapting to a changing climate.

The Carbon Commitment

The Carbon Commitment is focused on reducing Greenhouse Gas emissions and achieving carbon neutrality as soon as possible.

The Resilience Commitment

The Resilience Commitment is focused on climate adaptation and community capacity-building to deal with a changing climate and resulting extremes.

Office of Sustainability
312-314 Corbett Hall
Orono, Maine 04469-5774
Tel: 207.581.1571