CUGR, Maine Space Grant Consortium announce undergraduate awards

The University of Maine Center for Undergraduate Research and Maine Space Grant Consortium have announced MSGC Undergraduate Research Learning Experience recipients for the 2020–2021 academic year. 

The center has also announced recipients for the CUGR Research and Creative Activities Fellowships for the 2020–2021 academic year.

The purpose of the MSGC research learning experience at UMaine is to provide research opportunities to undergraduate students in aerospace technology, space science, Earth science, human exploration and space development, and other non-STEM related fields. 

The applications were jointly reviewed by CUGR advisory committee, faculty fellows and MSGC representatives. Selected projects are awarded $1,200 each, financed by a MSGC and NASA external grant and matched by CUGR and the College of Engineering Crowley Fund. 

This year’s MSGC research learning experience winners are: 

  • Samuel Bonnevie, chemistry, “Modelling the filling of methane in the heterogeneous pore network of catalyst support SBA-15,” advised by Brian Frederick
  • Benjamin Chasse, biomedical engineering, “Design of theoretical modeling to support a regenerative radiation shield for deep space exploration,” advised by Caitlin Howell
  • Kettie Cormier, civil and environmental engineering, “Concentrating viruses from sewage for SARS-CoV-2 monitoring,” advised by Jean MacRae
  • Miao Hu, mechanical engineering, “Advanced design of 3D printing head for aligning wood fibers into three-dimensional structures,” advised by Yingchao Yang
  • Aidan McGlone, mechanical engineering, “Fabrication of Metallic Organic Frameworks on Carbon for High-performance Supercapacitors,” advised by Yingchao Yang
  • Steele Muchemore-Allen, computer engineering, “MESAT-1 flight computer and data handling,” advised by Ali Abedi
  • Angel Nieves, chemistry, “Conjugation of glycans with a versatile anthranilamide-based auxiliary,” advised by Matthew Brichacek
  • Leah Parrish, computer science, “Exploration of olfactory interventions as a synergistic emotional and cognitive recovery technique,” advised by Nimesha Ranasinghe

This year’s CUGR Fellowship winners are:  

  • Peng Cheng, chemistry, “Determining relationships between surface polymer length and initial monomer concentration during synthesis for polymer-functionalized CNF,” advised by William Gramlich
  • Tyler D’Ambrosio, new media, “Pathfinder: A digital therapeutic,” advised by Jon Ippolito
  • Jon Donnelly, Computer Science, “Applying nonsmooth eigendata sensitivity theory to graph centrality problems,” advised by Peter Stechlinski
  • Sara Griffin, zoology, “Predicting range shifts for the Virginia opossum based on climate change,” advised by Danielle Levesque
  • Zachary Maynor, botany, “Effects of biochar and mulch on wild blueberry soil properties for mitigating drought stress of wild blueberry crops in Maine,” advised by Yongjiang Zhang
  • Casside McCusker, psychology, “Understanding mental health stigma,” advised by Mollie Ruben
  • Jacob Mealey, computer engineering, “Contact tracing via Bluetooth beacons,” advised by Michael Scott
  • Tuuli Overturf, animal and veterinary sciences, “Control of a ruminant pathogen, Parelaphostrongylus tenuis, using poultry: Effects of gastropod diets on ducks,” advised by Anne Lichtenwalner
  • Caitlin Sharples, new media, “Projection mapping and meditation: An immersive installation for anxious individuals,” advised by Jon Ippolito
  • Isabelle Stevens, psychology, “Chronic and acute stress as moderating variables in the relationship between socioeconomic status and obesity,” advised by Shannon McCoy