Three UMaine Athletes Receive ‘M’ Club Dean Smith Award

The University of Maine announced on Tuesday that Holly Stewart (North Vancouver, British Columbia) of the field hockey team, Kelton Cullenberg (Chesterville, Maine) of the cross country and track and field teams and Marcus Wasilewski (Kulpmont, Pa.) of the football team are the recipients of the 2014 “M” Club Dean Smith Awards. The awards are presented annually to the top male and female student-athlete with outstanding academic and athletic achievement along with citizenship and community service.

Stewart, a kinesiology and exercise science major with a 3.984 grade point average, finished second on the field hockey team in scoring her junior season with 12 goals and six assists for 30 points.

Cullenberg, the first UMaine male runner to compete in the NCAA Cross Country Championship since 1979, has been named to the Dean’s List six times and has posted a perfect 4.0 grade point average four times.

Wasilewski capped his senior season by leading Maine to the CAA Title and a first-ever home NCAA playoff game and was named to the Colonial Athletic Association All-Conference First Team.  He also earned the New England Football Writers Gold Helmet of the Year.

The “M” Club Dean Smith Award was first presented as the “M” Club Scholarship Award in 1980. The award was renamed to honor Dean Smith in 1993. Dean Smith was a recipient of the Walter Byers Award presented by the NCAA. Smith combined the top grade-point average among senior electrical engineering majors with the NAC scoring title as the captain of the 1989-90 men’s basketball team.

In addition, the University of Maine Athletic Department named its sixth annual “Team Maine” representing the top sophomore, junior or senior achieving the highest grade point average for the calendar year 2013. Representing “Team Maine” for 2013 are:

Logan Fullmer, Baseball, Food Science and Human Nutrition

Till Gloger, Men’s Basketball, Business Administration

E. Kelton Cullenberg, Men’s Cross Country and Track and Field, KPE — Exercise Science *

Arron Achey, Football, KPE — Exercise Science

Kyle Williams, Men’s Ice Hockey, Finance

Robert Bickford, Men’s Swimming, Biochemistry

Megan Smith, Cheering, Nursing

Rachele Burns, Women’s Basketball, KPE — Teaching and Coaching

Holly Stewart, Field Hockey, KPE — Exercise Science *

Brianne Kilgour, Women’s Ice Hockey, KPE — Teaching and Coaching and KPE M. Ed. (Grad)

Katelyn Massey, Women’s Ice Hockey, Psychology *

Stephanie Wood, Softball, Biology

Abigail Linn, Women’s Swimming, Sociology

Taylor Cunningham, Women’s Cross Country and Track and Field, English and Anthropology (DM) Honors College

Darien Lewis, Women’s Cross Country and Track and Field, KPE Exercise Science – Honor College

Carolyn Stocker, Food Science and Human Nutrition — Honors College *

Rachel Wilkinson, Women’s Cross Country and Track and Field, Food Science and Human Nutrition *

Ashten Hackett, Women’s Track and Field, KPE Exercise Science

Lisa Bijman, Women’s Soccer, KPE Exercise Science *

Meaghan Bradica, Women’s Soccer, KPE Exercise Science #