Contact a Department

Looking to get in touch with a specific department or program? Email and telephone contact information for each of the departments and schools within the UMaine College of Liberal Arts and Sciences are listed below. Not sure who to contact? Send us an email at clas@maine.edu and we’ll be happy to help.

Anthropology

(including Human Dimensions of Climate Change)

Samuel Hanes, Chair (samuel.hanes@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.1894

Art

Justin Wolff, Interim Chair (justin.wolff@maine.edu)

Department Email: um.art@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.3245

Chemistry

Alice Bruce, Chair (abruce@maine.edu)

Diane Muir, Administrative Specialist (diane.muir@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.1169

Communication and Journalism

(including Media Studies)

Judith Rosenbaum, Chair (judith.rosenbaumandre@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.1935

School of Computing and Information Science

(including New Media)

Penny Rheingans, Director (penny.rheingans@maine.edu)

Karen Kidder, Administrative Support Supervisor (kkidder@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.2188

English

Steven Evans, Chair (english.chair@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.3822

History

Stephen Miller, Chair (stephen.miller@maine.edu)

Department Email: umhist@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.1907

Mathematics and Statistics

Nigel Pitt, Chair (nigel.pitt@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.3900

Modern Languages and Classics

Carlos Villacorta, Interim Chair (carlos.villacorta@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.2072

Philosophy

Kirsten Jacobson, Chair (kirsten.jacobson@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.3866

Physics and Astronomy

John Thompson, Chair (umphysicschair@maine.edu)

Department Email: physics@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.1039

Political Science

Mark Brewer, Interim Chair (mark.brewer@maine.edu)

Department Email: polisci@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.1871

Psychology

Thane Fremouw, Chair (thane.fremouw@maine.edu)

Department Email: umainepsych@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.2030

School of Performing Arts, Division of Music

Laura Artesani, Chair (laura.artesani@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.4703

School of Performing Arts, Division of Theatre and Dance

Dan Bilodeau, Chair (dan.bilodeau@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.4703

Sociology

Richard Powell, Interim Chair (rpowell@maine.edu)

Department Email: sociology@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.2380

International Affairs

James Settele, Director (james.settele@maine.edu)

Telephone: 207.581.2075

Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Laura Cowan, Chair (laura.cowan@maine.edu)

Department Email: umaine.wgs@maine.edu

Telephone: 207.581.3439