Contact a Department

Looking to get in touch with a specific department or program? Email and telephone contact information for each of the departments and schools within the UMaine College of Liberal Arts and Sciences are listed below. Not sure who to contact? Send us an email at and we’ll be happy to help.


(including Human Dimensions of Climate Change)

Samuel Hanes, Chair (

Pat Maher, Administrative Specialist (

Telephone: 207.581.1894


Justin Wolff, Chair (

Jeannie Bauer, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.3245


Alice Bruce, Chair (

Diane Muir, Administrative Specialist (

Telephone: 207.581.1169

Communication and Journalism

(including Media Studies)

Judith Rosenbaum, Chair (

Kristen Libby, Administrative Specialist (

Telephone: 207.581.1935

School of Computing and Information Science

(including New Media)

Penny Rheingans, Director (

Karen Kidder, Administrative Support Supervisor (

Telephone: 207.581.2188


Steven Evans, Chair (

Celeste Cota, Administrative Support Supervisor (

Telephone: 207.581.3822


Stephen Miller, Chair (

Wendy Morrill, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.1907

Mathematics and Statistics

Nigel Pitt, Co-Chair (

Tyrone Crisp, Co-Chair (

Cathy Brown, Administrative Support Supervisor (

Telephone: 207.581.3900

Modern Languages and Classics

Carlos Villacorta, Chair (

Kelly Brown, Administrative Specialist (

Telephone: 207.581.2072


Kirsten Jacobson, Chair (

Jen Bowen, Administrative Specialist (

Telephone: 207.581.3866

Physics and Astronomy

John Thompson, Chair (

Mariana Haletska, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.1039

Political Science

Mark Brewer, Chair (

Debbie Grant, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.1871


Michael Robbins, Acting Chair (

Lorene Stevens, Administrative Support Supervisor (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.2030

School of Performing Arts

Philip Edelman, Director (

Rachelle Maietta, Administrative Support Supervisor (

Telephone: 207.581.4703


Karyn Sporer, Chair (

Kelly Brown, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.2380

International Affairs

Kristin Vekasi, Director (

Telephone: 207.581.1879

Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Elizabeth Nieman, Director (

Kelly Brown, Administrative Specialist (

Department Email:

Telephone: 207.581.3439