Graduate Board

Graduate Board Year-End Report 2018-2019

The Graduate Board as part of the responsibilities delegated to it by the Graduate Faculty shall: a. approve all new programs (with an affirmative vote of two-thirds of those present required); b. determine rules, procedures and policies of the Graduate School (with an affirmative vote of two-thirds of those present required); c. recommend all students who have completed degree requirements for presentation to the Trustees in the name of the Graduate Faculty (with a simple majority of those present and voting required); d. recommend approval of new courses and programs (with a simple majority of those present and voting required.); e. act on routine matters not resolved by the Executive Committee; f. refer matters to the Graduate Faculty or to the Executive Committee; g. issue calls for special meetings of the Graduate Faculty; h. carry out any special instructions of the Graduate Faculty; j. ratify all amendments to the Constitution of the Graduate School. Any act of the Board may be overruled by a majority vote of the Graduate Faculty voting in a duly authorized meeting.

Executive Committee of the Graduate Board shall operate within the policy guidelines of the Graduate School. It shall not make policy. The Executive Committee shall: a. act as an advisory body to the CAO of the Graduate School; b. resolve individual admissions problems and academic appeals; c. hear and resolve appeals on appointments to the Graduate Faculty; d. advise the CAO of the Graduate School on awarding scholarships, assistantships, and fellowships; e. establish the agenda for meetings of the Graduate Board.

The Graduate Board shall consist of the Graduate School’s administrative leadership, members elected by the Graduate Faculty, and one member appointed by the Graduate Student Government, and one member appointed by the Faculty Senate of the University of Maine as a liaison between the two bodies. The Senate representative must be a Full Graduate Faculty member in good standing and may also be a designated representative of one of the graduate programs. The chief academic officer of the Graduate School shall serve as chairperson.

Executive Committee shall consist of seven members, five faculty in addition to the CAO of the Graduate School and the Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies & Senior Associate Dean. The faculty members shall be elected by the Graduate Board from its own membership; it is the intent of the Graduate Faculty that the Executive Committee be broadly representative, preferably with one representative of each of the five Colleges. Board members shall have completed at least one year of a current term on the Graduate Board before the election to the Executive Committee. They shall be elected for a one-year term and are eligible for re-election.

For updated information please visit:

Reports to: Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School