About the Philosophy Department

Located in the historic frame building called The Maples, the Department of Philosophy offers a program of study leading to a Bachelor of Arts in philosophy within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. The major offers students a diverse set of courses, representing the full spectrum of philosophical inquiry. Philosophy is a discipline devoted to rigorous reflection on human nature, culture, and the world. It has a long history, beginning with the Ancient Greeks, that is the foundation of philosophical education. Areas covered in the curriculum include environmental and medical ethics, ethical theory, existentialism, social and political philosophy, logic, phenomenology, feminist philosophy, Hinduism and Buddhism, philosophy of language, aesthetics, philosophy of science, and the history of philosophy. The curriculum is organized so that advanced courses will prepare those students who wish to continue studying philosophy in graduate school.

Our department offers a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy, as well as three distinct Minors: Philosophy; Ethics and Political Philosophy; and Environmental Ethics. Philosophy majors also often pursue a double major; common choices for a double major include political science, English, history, mathematics, and computer science. Students who have pursued a philosophy major are valued in professions such as law, medicine, government and others for their abilities to think and communicate clearly, to respond creatively to critical problems, and to deal thoughtfully with a range of issues pertaining to human nature and values.

Faculty members in the Department of Philosophy are recognized scholars who contribute actively to the professional advancement of philosophical inquiry and innovation both nationally and internationally. 

Philosophy: A Brief Guide for Undergraduates (external)

Contribute to Philosophy

Subscribe to our Newsletter