School of Forest Resources to honor 2020–22 Distinguished Alumni on Oct. 14

The School of Forest Resources at the University of Maine will present Patrick “Pat” Strauch, Ken Lausten and Mike Dann with Distinguished Alumni Awards in Nutting Hall on Oct. 14 at 5 p.m. 

The awards event will be followed by a barbecue and bonfire in the field adjacent to Nutting Hall. The event, which coincides with UMaine’s Homecoming, is free and open to the public; registration is required. Additional information is available online

The award recognizes graduates of the school’s programs who have made significant contributions to the forest resource professions and society. Typically, one alum is recognized each year, but public presentations of the award were canceled in 2020 and 2021.

Strauch ’81, ’90G, the 2022 honoree, is currently the executive director of the Maine Forest Products Council, where he leads a diverse membership involving all aspects of the industry — loggers, truckers, lawyers, bankers, landowners, forest management firms, land trusts, and forest product companies. He develops a consensus that is used to influence legislation and policies in Augusta to support the forest products community in the state. In 2014, he received the W.D. Hagenstein Communicators Award from the Society of American Foresters in 2014. He was a key partner in developing the Forest Opportunity Roadmap/Maine (FOR/Maine), a blueprint for future development and support of Maine’s forest products industry. He previously worked for the Maine Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI), St. Regis Paper, U.S. Gypsum Company, Casella Waste Systems and Sawyer Companies. He graduated from UMaine with a B.S. in forestry in 1981, and a M.S. in silviculture in 1990.

Lausten ’74, the 2021 honoree, worked as Maine’s Forest Biometrician for the Maine Forest Service for more than 20 years until he retired in 2021. He guided the state into modern use of inventory sampling and analysis to estimate the wood supply and utilization. An active member of the Society of American Foresters (SAF) since 1974, Lausten served at the state, New England and national levels. He was named an SAF Fellow in 2008 in recognition of his contribution to the forestry profession. He also received the United States Forest Service Director’s Award for Excellence in 2001, and the Maine Forest Products Council President’s Award in 2018. Lausten is both a SAF Certified Forester and a Maine Licensed Professional Forester. He previously worked for Great Northern Paper and Asplundh. He graduated from UMaine with a B.S. in forestry in 1974.

Dann ’68, the 2020 honoree, has represented the forestry profession on numerous advisory boards, including the Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands, the Maine Forest Service, the Maine Forest Products Council and the Forest Resources Association. He was also part of the group that developed the Maine Forest Practices Act. Dann is an active member of the SAF, which awarded him the New England Distinguished Service Award and named him an SAF Fellow. He currently stewards his 150-acre tree farm in Dixmont. He previously was lead auditor for the Forest Stewardship Council, and a forester for the Small Woodland Owners Association of Maine Land Trust. He spent more than 35 years at Seven Islands Land Company, the last 16 years as woodlands manager. Dann also served as an officer in the U.S. Naval Reserve. He graduated from UMaine with a B.S. in forest management in 1968.

To request an accessibility accommodation for the School of Forest Resources alumni and friends event, call 207.581.2887 or email