Nickerson Scholarship recipients named

Eighteen University of Maine undergraduates have been named 2021–22 Nickerson Scholarship recipients: Connor Ashfield and Julia Bate of Bangor, Scott Beauchamp of Bath, Madeline Bierman of Sorrento, Brooke Camire of Acton, Hailey Champagne of Lewiston, Benjamin Cotton of Glenburn, Elizabeth Davis of Gray, Jillian Hagerty of Houlton, Lila Harakles of Scarborough, Catherine Keely McConville of Yarmouth, Devon Lammert of Orono, Chandler McGaw of Thomaston, Jeffrey Norsworthy of Yarmouth, Cody Porter of Hermon, Collin Rhoads-Doyle of Holden, Kaitlyn Ridley of Litchfield, and Claire Shaw of Bernard.

The John M. Nickerson University of Maine Scholarship was established in 2014 at the University of Maine Foundation with a gift of more than $2 million from the estate of John Nickerson, a UMaine alumnus who taught for many years at his alma mater and at the University of Maine at Augusta. This endowed annual scholarship supports UMaine students who, among other requirements, study political science, have attained junior standing, are Maine residents and have made an impact in their communities. Five students were the first to receive the Nickerson Scholarship in 2016.