2018 Maryann Hartman Award winners named

The 2018 Maryann Hartman Awards recognizing the inspirational achievements of Maine women will be presented to author and chaplain Kate Braestrup of Lincolnville, community organizer and activist JoAnne Dauphinee of Bangor and state legislator Peggy Rotundo of Lewiston.

The women will be honored in a ceremony at 6 p.m., March 28 at Buchanan Alumni House on campus. The event, which is free and open to the public, is sponsored by the Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies program and the Rising Tide Center at the University of Maine.

Braestrup is an acclaimed author and chaplain to the Maine Warden Service. A popular speaker nationwide and abroad, Braestrup has written about her experiences in life, loss and love.

Dauphinee is a founding member of Maine National Organization for Women (NOW) and helped establish chapters in multiple communities statewide. She has served as a collaborative organizer, leader and activist on important public policy issues.

Rotundo spent 16 years in the Maine legislature. She is a consensus-builder and strategist, and has served in public service roles in Lewiston and in the Harward Center for Community Partnerships at Bates College.

Maryann Hartman Awards recognize Maine women whose achievements in the arts, politics, business, education, health care and community service provide inspiration for women. The awards honor the legacy of the late associate professor of speech communication who was a distinguished educator, feminist, scholar and humanitarian.

To attend the awards ceremony, RSVP by calling 207.581.1228 or email risingtide@maine.edu.

Contact: Margaret Nagle, 207.581.3745