UMaine’s Phi Kappa Phi Chapter Inducts 47 Members

Forty-seven members of University of Maine community, including 41 undergraduate and graduate students, were inducted into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and largest collegiate honor society, during the chapter’s annual meeting on campus March 19.

Faculty and alumni inductees were Jeffrey Hecker, executive vice president for academic affairs and provost, who was keynote speaker at the event; Shaleen Jain, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; Kyriacos Markides, professor of sociology; Gail Werrbach, director and associate professor of social work; Lucille Zeph, associate professor of education; and alumna Sarah Smiley, who has a Master of Arts in Communication from UMaine.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 at UMaine by 10 seniors led by Marcus L. Urann in an effort to start an honorary society that recognizes outstanding students, faculty and staff from all disciplines.

In 1900, the University of Tennessee and Pennsylvania State University joined the society originally named Lambda Sigma Eta Society, making it a national society. Phi Kappa Phi has since grown to an international society with more than one million members from more than 300 campuses across the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

2015 Phi Kappa Phi-Chapter 1 student inductees:

  • Marissa Bovie of Vassalboro, Maine
  • Benjamin Whiting Bucklin of Searsport, Maine
  • Jie Cao of Shanghai, China
  • Kyle Castagnetto of Winslow, Maine
  • Jesse T. Clark of Calais, Maine
  • Annie Collins of Caribou, Maine
  • Sean Christopher Cox of Bar Harbor, Maine
  • Katie A. Delcourt of Old Town, Maine
  • Nathan Francis Dunn of Berwick, Maine
  • Kelly A. Edwards of Pownal, Maine
  • Julianna Ennamorati of Waldoboro, Maine
  • Jennifer Federico of Glenburn, Maine
  • Derek Michael Frey of Kenduskeag, Maine
  • Wendy Gibbs of Brooks, Maine
  • Andrew Goode of Boothbay, Maine
  • Adam Gudroe of Garland, Maine
  • Cameron Guild of Manchester, Maine
  • Nicolette D. Hashey of Hermon, Maine
  • Kathleen R. Hill of Ellsworth, Maine
  • Eliza Capen Jones of Newcastle, Maine
  • Michael Joseph Kennedy of Biddeford, Maine
  • Katrina R. Lapham of Belfast, Maine
  • Anne M. Lausier of Bangor, Maine
  • Richard H. Luc of Bangor, Maine
  • Abigail Adams MacDonald of Yarmouth, Maine
  • Joan Marie McCue of Old Town, Maine
  • Molly Moreshead of Holden, Maine
  • Samantha O’Shea of Kennebunkport, Maine
  • Ray G. Peck of Brewer, Maine
  • Samantha L. Pelletier of Saint David, Maine
  • Elizabeth G. Proctor of Newbury, Massachusetts
  • Tyler Quiring of Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
  • Anna Richard of Wareham, Massachusetts
  • Allison E. Scully of Waterville, Maine
  • Megan W. Smith of Bucksport, Maine
  • Bronte Mercedes Sone of Orono, Maine
  • Jamie Lynn St. Pierre of Wilton, Maine
  • Leanne R. Violette of Bangor, Maine
  • Sadie Wight of Bucksport, Maine
  • Eric Wold of Freeport, Maine
  • Yunhui Wu of Beidou Community, Heilongjiang, China