EES Students Recognized at 3rd Annual Scholarship & Leadership Event

The 3rd Annual EES Scholarship and Leadership Celebration was held on Tuesday, April 16 at Stodder Hall.  Undergraduate and graduate students as well as faculty were recognized.  The Boyle Prize for the top graduating senior was awarded to Michaela Murray. Four Stantec Scholarships were awarded to Madeleine DeMoranville, Nathaniel Burke, Job Rheinhardt, and Patrick Hurley.  The 2018 Dunham Scholarships awardees were also recognized: Emma Murray, Tyler Reinke, Dominique DiSpirito, and Melanie Smith.

The first Adam Perron ’07 Field Study Scholarship was awarded to Zander Roman. This scholarship aims to support participation in field courses like EES 217, a required course for EES students that provides students with hands-on, policy-relevant research at the Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park, as they learn what it takes to become an environmental scientist. The scholarship was named after EES Alumni Adam Perron, who was a science teacher at Lake Region Middle School in Naples, Maine.  Adam shared his enthusiasm for the environment by providing hands-on learning opportunities for his students.

The senior EES Ambassadors were also acknowledged for their contributions.  Our ambassadors are outstanding undergraduate students that meet with prospective students to discuss their experiences with the Ecology and Environmental Sciences program and life at the University of Maine. These students are: Kathleen Brown, Chantal Bussiere, Cassandra Carroll, Tristan Hernandez, Michaela Murray, Kaitlyn Raffier, and Mike Tarquinio.