Welcome to Page Farm and Home Museum
Page Farm & Home Museum at the University of Maine
- Contact Phone: 207.581.4100
- Open Tuesday to Saturday, 9AM to 4PM
Phone: 581-4100 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
ATTENTION: The Page Farm and Home Museum will be closed this Saturday (August 27th) as we attend the American Folk Festival on the Bangor Waterfront. This year, we will be exploring Maine’s rich fiber history. We will be located in the covered tent closest to the Sea Dog Brewing Company on the Waterfront. For more information regarding the American Folk Festival, including festival hours, schedule of events, suggested donations, and directions, please visit http://www.americanfolkfestival.com/. Regular Museum hours will resume on Tuesday, August 30th.
For Teachers: Are you interested in taking your class for a tour of the museum?
If so, please go to our Educational Tours page.
All groups coming to the Museum must call the Museum office at 581-4100 at least two weeks prior to their visit to confirm space and schedule availability.
The mission of the Page Farm & Home Museum is to collect, document, preserve, interpret and disseminate knowledge of Maine history relating to farms and farming communities between 1865 and 1940, providing an educational and cultural experience for the public and a resource for researchers of this period.
Through its collections and programs, the Page Farm and Home Museum contributes to the educational mission of The University of Maine. Thousands of patrons come to the Page Farm and Home Museum each year to learn about the industry, agriculture, economy, and home-life of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The Experiment Station barn, a post and beam structure, is the centerpiece of the Museum. The three-story building, built in 1833, is the last original agricultural building on the University of Maine campus. The quiet and unassuming exterior belies the rich cultural heritage that it represents. A restored one-room schoolhouse from Holden, used by students from 1855 to 1950, was moved to the Museum grounds in 1994. The Winston E. Pullen Carriage House and the Blacksmith Shop were constructed in 2003. A ¼ acre Heritage Garden rounds out the Museum. Heirloom varieties of herbs, flowers, and vegetables that were grown from 1865 to 1940 are cultivated here.
The Museum has become home for the state’s most important collection of farm technologies and artifacts of rural culture. The Museum assures that future generations will be able to gain valuable and practical insights into Maine’s rural past. The Page Museum is about farming, and until recently, Maine was about farming. Some would claim that Maine’s farming days are not yet over. Blueberries, potatoes, and aquaculture have all taken great strides in recent years. Agriculture promotes tourism both in the bucolic nature of the area and the tastes that become identified with Maine. In this part of Maine, with its often-shaky economy, the future of farming matters. However, there are many different ideas on what direction it should take. The Page Museum is more than a window to the past: In our exploration of conditions and philosophies of the past, we offer suggestions and ideas for the future.
To get in touch with the museum for more information, please go to our contact page.