SOE Graduate Student Eric Miller starts Fulbright in Laos

SOE (and SPIA) Graduate Student Eric Miller recently began his Fulbright Program experience in Lao People’s Democratic Republic, or Laos.  As noted in the UMaine press release last June, ‘The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is named for Sen. J. William Fulbright, who introduced a bill in Congress in 1945 that called for the use of […]

Read more

Dr. Mario Teisl

SOE Director Teisl leading NSF-funded training program to develop innovative solutions to health challenges

SOE Director Mario Teisl is leading a new interdisciplinary training initiative focused on advancing understanding of disease dynamics at the intersection of human, animal, plant and environmental health & catalyzing innovative solutions to health challenges. The One Health and the Environment initiative was awarded nearly $3 million from the National Science Foundation Research Traineeship program. […]

Read more

Andrew Crawley

SOE’s Andrew Crawely studies the value of the reuse economy

Cynthia Isenhour, a professor of anthropology and climate change, and SOE’s Andrew Crawley, a professor of regional economic development, were awarded more than $265,000 from the National Science Foundation to examine Maine’s reuse markets and their potential to advance social, environmental and economic public policy goals.  REad more about their work here

Read more

Jonathan Rubin

Rubin named to inaugural editorial board of ‘Transportation Research Record’

SOE’s Jonathan Rubin, director of the Margaret Chase Smith Policy Center, has been named an associate editor of the “Transportation Research Record,” the publication of the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. He is a member of the inaugural editorial board of the “Transportation Research Record” in its transition […]

Read more

Downing College Cambridge

Dr. Andrew Crawley presents research at the 47th Annual Meeting of the British and Irish Section of the Regional Science Association International in Cambridge, England

SOE Assistant Professor Andrew Crawley presented his collaborative work with SOE graduate student Sarah Welch at the 47th Annual Meeting of the British and Irish Section of the Regional Science Association International.  His talk, How do Economic Cycles affect state level labor matching efficiencies?, focused on labor market issues in the United States. The 47th […]

Read more

Dr. Keith Evans and SOE Graduate Students George Voigt, Hannah Merriam, and Nick Alvarez present research at the 2019 NAREA Annual Meeting

SOE Assistant Professor Keith Evans, SOE Post-doctoral Researcher Kofi Britwum, and SOE Graduate Students George Voigt, Hannah Merriam, and Nick Alvarez presented their research at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the Northeastern Agricultural and Resource Economics Association (NAREA). Dr. Evans presented his research conducted with Hannah Merriam, Averting behavior in the soft-shell clam fishery. Kofi […]

Read more

Kofi Britwum

SOE Post-doctoral Researcher Kofi Britwum Wins NAREA Best Paper Award

SOE Post-doctoral Researcher Kofi Britwum received the 2019 NAREA Best Paper Award for his manuscript Are Preferences for Aquacultured Seafood Down to The Attribute? Examining Attitudes and Willingness to Pay. The NAREA Best Paper Award recognizes research accomplishments of young scholars (seven years or less from completion of their PhD and that are lead authors) […]

Read more

Dr. Angela Daley and Muntasir Rahman shared research at the 53rd Annual Conference of the Canadian Economics Association

SOE Assistant Professor Angela Daley and graduate student Muntasir Rahman participated in the 53rd Annual Conference of the Canadian Economics Association. Dr. Daley gave a talk summarizing her research paper Subsidies and food insecurity in remote communities: Evidence from the Food Mail Program and Nutrition North Canada. Muntasir Rahman also gave a talk to the international […]

Read more

May 2019 Master’s in Economics!

Friday, May 10 saw another excellent batch of economics master’s students graduate from the School of Economics. In 2019 the School of Economics will graduate 14 masters students, 9 of whom will have completed their degree requirements in May, and all of whom will be missed.

Read more