LGBTQ Allies Council


To promote a safe and inclusive environment for our campus community through education, engagement, and advocacy.

Current Initiatives

  • Recruit and train Safe Zones trainers to assist the Office of LGBTQ Services in offering this program to the UMaine Community.
  • Advocate for faculty and staff employees to have access to including preferred names in username change processes.
  • Create and promote policy and practice for gender-inclusive housing on the University of Maine Campus.
  • Advocate for the delineation of sex and gender across all University of Maine platforms.
  • Advocate for the inclusion of a preferred name and pronoun clause in all class syllabi.
  • Create a condensed rendition of Safe Zone training for LGBTQ education for all incoming faculty, staff, and students.

Achieved Initiatives

  • Create and promote a policy for gender-neutral bathrooms on the UMaine Campus in all new buildings and in existing buildings as renovations take place.
  • Advocate for the completion and promotion of policy and procedure for utilizing preferred names on Maine Cards for students and employees.

Council Members


Jane Pappas, Graduate Assistant LGBTQ Services,  

Ryan Michaud, Community Coordinator, Residence Life,  


Dr. Robert Q. Dana, Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students 

General Members:

Jessica Browne, Clinical Social Worker, Counseling Center

Sandra Caron, Program Coordinator, Human Development & Family Studies

George Criner, Associate Dean, College of NSFA

Kaitlin Crockett, Assistant Athletic Trainer, Athletics

Adrianna Del Amo, Fitness And Aquatics Coordinator, Campus Recreation

Silvestre Guzman, Director, Multicultural Student Life

Wayne Maines, Director, Safety and Environmental Management

Lauren Seganos Cohen, Director, Wilson Center

Lauri Sidelko, Director, Student Wellness

Chelsea Stanhope, Career Counselor, Career Center

Patti Tewhey, Assistant to Associate Dean, College of NSFA

Brianna Woodworth, Wellness Educator/ Athletic Trainer, Cutler Health Center

Interested in Joining?

Email one of the co-chairs listed above for more information.