LGBTQ+

Mission

To promote a safe and inclusive environment for our campus community through education, engagement, and advocacy.

Current Initiatives

  • Recruit and train Safe Zones trainers to assist the Office of LGBTQ Services in offering this program to the UMaine Community.
  • Advocate for faculty and staff employees to have access to including preferred names in username change processes.
  • Create and promote policy and practice for gender-inclusive housing on the University of Maine Campus.
  • Advocate for the delineation of sex and gender across all University of Maine platforms.
  • Advocate for the inclusion of a preferred name and pronoun clause in all class syllabi.
  • Create a condensed rendition of Safe Zone training for LGBTQ education for all incoming faculty, staff, and students.

Achieved Initiatives

  • Create and promote a policy for gender-neutral bathrooms on the UMaine Campus in all new buildings and in existing buildings as renovations take place.
  • Advocate for the completion and promotion of policy and procedure for utilizing preferred names on Maine Cards for students and employees.
Team building

Council Members

Co-Chairs:

Mollie Ruben, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychology, mollie.ruben@maine.edu

Advisor:

Dr. Robert Q. Dana, Vice President of Student Life and Diversity and Inclusive Excellence and Dean of Students

Current Members

Adrianna Del Amo, Fitness And Aquatics Coordinator, Campus Recreation, adrianna.delamo@maine.edu

Amy Coleman, Office of Student Accessibility Services, amy.coleman@maine.edu

Andrea Gifford, Associate Dean of Students, Student Life, agifford@maine.edu

Anila Karunakar, Director for Diversity & Inclusion, Student Life, anila.karunakar@maine.edu

Brian Berger, SEVIS Coordinator, International Programs, brian.berger@maine.edu

Cam McDonnell, Community Coordinator, Residence Life, cam.mcdonnell@maine.edu

Casey Faulkingham, Community Response Team Leader, Partners for Peace, casey.faulkingham@maine.edu

Ciarra Jaszay, Student Administrative Aide, Rainbow Resource Center, ciarra.jaszay@maine.edu

Heather Hogan, Deputy Title IX Coordinator, Center for Student Involvement, heather.hogan@maine.edu

Jessica Browne, Clinical Social Worker, Counseling Center, jessica.browne@maine.edu

Joshua Stanhope, Assistant Director for Fraternity & Sorority Affairs, Center for Student Involvement, joshua.stanhope@maine.edu

Joy Sinclair, Interactive Marketing Specialist, Auxiliary Services, joy.sinclair@maine.edu

Julie Eubanks, Academic Support Specialist, College of NSFA, julie.eubanks@maine.edu

Lauri Sidelko, Assistant Dean of Students & Director of Student Wellness, sidelko@maine.edu

Mike Kirby, Manager of Digital Communications, Division of Marketing & Communications, mike.kirby@maine.edu

Robert Jackson, Staff Associate for Diversity & Inclusion, Student Life, robert.jackson@maine.edu

Sally Clark, Administrative Support Supervisor, Auxiliary Services, sally.clark@maine.edu

Sandra Caron, Program Coordinator, Human Development & Family Studies, scaron@maine.edu

Webb Parker,  Assistant Professor of Music, School of Performing Arts, webb.parker@maine.edu

Interested in Joining?

Email a co-chairs listed above for more information.

Last Modified August 25, 2021