Graduate Student Directory

Abbandonato, Christopher

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Spatial variability in soft-shell clam recruitment
Advisor: Dr. Brian Beal and Dr. Yong Chen
Email: christopher.abbandonato@maine.edu
Location: UMM Science 213

 


Bennett, Abby

Program: EES, NRT
Research Topic: Impact of conservation land on municipal taxes
Advisor: Adam Daigneault
Emailabigail.j.bennett@maine.edu
Location: Nutting Hall
Website (project): https://www.downeastconservationnetwork.org/municipal-budgets-and-conservation/

Braun, Laura

Program: MS
Advisor: Dr. Amanda Klemmer
Email: Laura.braun@maine.edu
Location: Deering 209


Brehm, Allison

Program:  PhD
Research Topic:  Consequences of small mammal personalities on habitat use, seed dispersal effectiveness, and demography
Advisor: Alessio Mortelliti
Email:  allison.brehm@maine.edu
Location:  202 Nutting Hall


Breit, Ana

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Comparative Energetics of Thermoregulatory Physiology
Advisor: Dr. Danielle Levesque
Email: ana.breit@maine.edu
Location: 307 Murray


Chakraborty, Sujan

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Social Dimensions of Circular Economy
Advisor: Cindy Isenhour
Emailsujan.chakraborty@maine.edu

Champagne, Rebecca

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Weed management in organic vegetable systems
Advisor: Dr. Eric Gallandt
Emailrebecca.champagne@maine.edu
Location: 203 Roger Clapp Greenhouse
Websitehttps://umaine.edu/weedecology/

Chang, Hsiao-yun

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Northern shrimp and climate change
Advisor: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: hsiaoyun.chang@maine.edu
Location: 225 Libby Hall


Choi, Olivia N.

Program – PhD
Research Topic – Migratory bird microbiomes and disease
Advisor – Pauline Kamath
Email – olivia.choi@maine.edu
Location – Hitchner Hall 216

Connell, Owen

Program – MS
Research Topic
Advisor – Jessica Leahy
Emailowen.connell@maine.edu

de Leon, Michelle

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Storytelling and marine fisheries: Engaging in partnerships to give rise to community resilience
Advisor: Dr. Linda Silka and Dr. Gayle Zydlewski
Emailmichelle.de@maine.edu
Location: 313 Deering Hall
Websitelinkedin.com/in/michelleadeleon


Dickson, Carly

Program: MS
Research Topic: Host-pathogen evolution of Bacillus anthracis and African ungulates
Advisor: Pauline Kamath
EmailCaroline.c.dickson@maine.edu
Location: 216 Hitchner Hall

Dill, Griffin

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Eleanor Groden
Email: griffin.dill@maine.edu


Duparcq, Margaux

Program:  PhD
Research Topic:  How climate change and land use change affect scatter-hoarding rodents and their ecosystem service
Advisor: Alessio Mortelliti
Email:  margaux.duparcq@maine.edu
Location:  220 Nutting Hall


Erdman, Brad

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Conservation Genetics
Advisor: Dr. Michael Kinnison
Email: bradley.erdman@maine.edu
Location: 307 Murray Hall


Flye, Melissa

Program:  PhD
Research Topic:  Homeward bound:  Returning Atlantic salmon to Maine rivers using aquaculture
Advisor: Carly Sponarski
Co-Advisor: Joseph Zydlewski
Email:  Melissa.flye@maine.edu
Location:  244 Nutting Hall


Gavin, Amanda

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Integrated Arctic freshwater resource management
Advisor: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Emailamanda.gavin@maine.edu
Location: Sawyer Environmental Sciences Center


Gudde, Elise

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Northern flying squirrel and climate change
Advisor: Danielle Levesque
Email: elise.gudde@maine.edu
Location: Murray 307

Hamley, Catherine

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Paleoecological indicators of human arrival and activity in novel landscapes
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: catherine.hamley@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Hazuková, Vendy

Program: PhD (EES, CCI)
Research topic: Response of Arctic lakes to climate change
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
Emailvaclava.hazukova@maine.edu
Location:  Sawyer 206


Heilakka, Christopher

Program:  MS
Research Topic:  Investigation of the importance of talus slopes and rock faces to Myotis bats during an important life history phase (hibernation) in Maine
Advisor: Erik Blomberg
Emailchristopher.heilakka@maine.edu
Location:  232A Nutting Hall


Hillyer, Gabrielle

Program: PhD EES and NRT Conservation Science
Research Topic: Understanding Governance in the Wild Clam and Mussel Fishery in Maine
Advisors: Bridie McGreavy and Anthony Sutton
Email: gabrielle.hillyer@maine.edu
Website: themudflat.org

Hotopp, Alice

Program: PhD
Research topic Genome to phenome linkages in the evolutionary ecology of tidal marsh sparrow plumage  
Advisors: Dr. Brian Olsen and Dr. Kristina Cammen
Emailalice.hotopp@maine.edu

Hurd, Stephanie

Program: PhD
Research Topic: How forest management and predator-prey interactions within a trophic cascade affect the transmission of tickborne disease
Advisor: Dr. Allie Gardner
EmailStephanie.Hurd@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall

Huston, Grayson

Program: PhD (EES, SBE, Maine eDNA)
Research Topic: Using sedimentary DNA to understand historic species distribution and community shifts in Maine lakes.
Advisor: Dr. Michael Kinnison & Dr. Jasmine Saros
EmailGrayson.huston@maine.edu
Location: 307 Murray Hall
Website: https://graysonhuston.wixsite.com/my-site


Jekielek, Phoebe

Program: Maine eDNA
Research Topic: Developing eDNA tools to monitor reproduction and recruitment processes in aquaculture and wild shellfisheries
Advisor: Dr. Heather Leslie
Emailphoebe.jekielek@maine.edu
Location: Darling Marine Center


Johnston, Elliot

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Ecology of coastal birds in rockweed habitats
Advisor: Drs. Brian Olsen & Amanda Klemmer
Emailedwin.johnston@maine.edu
Location: 204 Roger Clapp Greenhouse

Kim, Jay

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Adaptations to climate change in the Maine Lobster Fishery through bio-economic analysis
Advisor: Keith Evans, Yong Chen
Emailjaeheon.kim@maine.edu
Location: Wiscasset, ME; Orono UMaine campus

Kizhakkepurakkal, Sibi

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Acidification Recovery Response of Bear Brook Watershed
Advisor: Dr. Ivan Fernandez
Email: sibi.kizhakkepurakkal@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall


Kline, Logan

Program: M.S.
Research topic: Errors in artificial intelligence classifications of colonial nesting birds in remotely sensed imagery
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Loftin and Dr. Daniel Hayes
Emaillogan.kline@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall
Website Linkhttps://www1.usgs.gov/coopunits/staff/2188518

Lamb, Avery

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Using paleolimnology and sedimentary eDNA to assess links between climate change and cyanoHABs in Maine lakes
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
Emailavery.lamb@maine.edu
Location: Sawyer 206B

Landrum, Madi

Program: Ph.D.
Research: Investigating Maine’s Indigenous fire pre-history
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: madeleine.landrum@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer

LeClair, Gregory

Program: MS
Research Topic: Applications of eDNA to Detection of Turtles in Field and Forensic Settings
Advisor: Michael Kinnison
Emailgregory.leclair@maine.edu
Location: Murray 307

Lewis, Meredith

Program:  MS
Research Topic:  Using Remote Sensing Techniques to Studying Maine’s Seabirds
Advisor: Cynthia Loftin and  Daniel Hayes
Email:  meredith.a.lewis@maine.edu
Location:   101 Nutting Hall


MacDonald, Brooke Hafford

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Lake conservation/Social Science
Co-Advisors: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone and John Daigle
Email: brooke.hafford@maine.edu


Martin, Lucy

Program: MS
Research Topic: COVID-19 and its impacts on Protected Areas in Maine
Advisor: Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Email: lucy.martin@maine.edu


McLaughlin, Bailey

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Plant species’ responses to climate change
Advisor: Dr. Brian McGill
Emailbailey.mclaughlin@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall

Mensinger, Matthew

Program:  PhD
Research Topic:  Does predation may limit production and migratory success of Atlantic salmon smolts? 
Advisor: Joseph Zydlewski
Co-Advisor:  Alessio Mortelliti
Email:  matthew.mensinger@maine.edu
Location:  220 Nutting Hall


Merz, Maisie

Program: MS
Topic: Small mammal personality and resource use in a landscape of fear
Advisor: Dr. Alessio Mortelliti
Email: Margaret.merz@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall

Mittelstaedt, Hannah

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Intertidal invertebrate communities and food-webs
Advisor: Dr. Amanda Klemmer, Dr. Brian Olsen
Emailhannah.mittelstaedt@maine.edu
Location: Deering 209

Mohan,Joe

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Lake ecology and paleontology
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
Email: Joseph.mohan@maine.edu
Location: Sawyer 206b

Ongman, Kurt

Program: MS
Research Topic: Demographic and habitat characteristics of a sympatric population of Golden-winged and Blue-winged Warblers
Advisor: Amber Roth
Email:  kurt.ongman@maine.edu

Pellecer Rivera, Elizabeth

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Coupled dynamics of tourism and mosquito-borne diseases
Advisor: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Emailelizabeth.pellecer@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall

Pugh, Katrina

Preferred Name: Kate Pugh
Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Using AI to show how conversation influences collective impact, and how we can (re)design
networks for better conversation
Advisor: Teresa Johnson, PhD.
Emailkatrina.pugh@maine.edu
Location: Orono, Maine and Lexington, MA
Website Link: https://linkedin.com/in/katepugh

Reilly-Moman, Jessica

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Coastal Climate Resilience and Transformation in Social Ecological Systems in Maine and Mexico
Advisor: Dr. Heather Leslie
Emailjessica.reillymoman@maine.edu
Location: Darling Marine Center, 193 Clarks Cove Road, Walpole, ME 04573
Website: https://umaine.edu/leslie-lab/links/jessica-reilly-moman/http://sailingforclimate.com/


Sabzian Papi, Hossein

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Modeling Cultural Adaptation to Climate Change
Advisor: Dr. Timothy Waring
Emailhossein.sabzian@maine.edu

Schierer, Meg

Program:  Ph.D. OneHealth and the Environment NRT
Research Topic: Social and ecological dynamics of mosquito-borne disease
Advisor: Dr. Allison Gardner and Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Email: megan.schierer@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall


Shea, Stephanie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Wild Turkey Disease Ecology and Evolution
Advisor:
Pauline Kamath
Website:
https://umaine.edu/foodandagriculture/kamath2/
Location:
216 Hitchner Hall


Shepard, Isaac

Program: Ph.D., Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: isaac.shepard@maine.edu
Location: 209D Deering Hall


Snyder, Shawn

Program:  Ph.D
Research Topic: Identification and Characterization of Groundwater Dependent Ecosystems in the Northeast United States
Advisor:  Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email:   shawn.snyder@maine.edu
Location:   244 Nutting Hall

Struder, Sara Delaney

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Farmer adaptation to climate change: understanding farmer learning, decision-making and social networks
Advisor: Rachel Schattman
Emailsara.delaney@maine.edu
Location: 206 Roger Clapp Greenhouse
Website: https://www.linkedin.com/in/saraedelaney/

Su, Shu

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Science-based fisheries management, China’s fisheries policy and regulations
Advisor: Yong Chen
Emailsu.shu@maine.edu
Location: 221 Libby Hall

Tasnim, Rafa

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Warming effects due to climate change as well as fertilization and irrigation effects on wild blueberries.
Advisor: Dr. Yong-jiang Zhang
Emailrafa.tasnim@maine.edu
Location: 304D Deering Hall, University of Maine, Orono 04469
Website linkshttps://rafatasnim.weebly.com/
https://sites.google.com/view/the-zhang-lab/zhang-lab/lab-members?authuser=0
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Rafa_Tasnim2

Taylor, Tegwin

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Echinococcus in Maine wildlife
Advisors: Dr. Pauline Kamath and Dr. Carly Sponarski
Emailtegwin.taylor@maine.edu
Location: 216 Hitchner Hall


Tirrell, Andrea

Program: MS
Research Topic: New England alpine plant community response to climate change
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Emailandrea.tirrell@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer
Website: https://andreajtirrell.wixsite.com/ecology

Vogel, Sarah

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Program evaluation of the U.S. Geological Survey’s Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Units Program
Advisors: Cynthia Loftin and Joseph Zydlewski
Emailsarah.vogel@maine.edu
Location: Nutting Hall Room 104

Watson, Val

Program: MS
Research Topic: Ecosystem responses to river restoration
Advisor: Dr Hamish Greig
Email: valerie.k.watson@maine.edu
Location: 209 Deering

White, Holly

Program: PhD
Research Topic: STEM education
Advisor: Kate Ruskin
Emailholly.white2@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall

White, Rachel

Program: PhD/ One Health & Environment NRT
Research Topic: Assessing Terrestrial Gastropods as Parasite Vectors: Helminth Parasite Diversity and Factors of Transmission between Livestock and Wildlife
Advisor: Dr. Anne Lichtenwalner & Dr. Debra Kantor
Emailrachel.whitney@maine.edu
Location: 136 Hitchner Hall


Woods, Alaina

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Parasitic and bacterial infections in Maine moose.
Advisor: Dr. Pauline Kamath
Emailalaina.woods@maine.edu
Website: https://kamathlab.weebly.com

Yen, Ivy

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Consequences of small mammal personality on seed dispersal, stress response, disease, and interspecific competition
Advisor: Dr. Alessio Mortelliti
Emailivy.yen@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall