Graduate Student Directory

Abbandonato, Christopher

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Spatial variability in soft-shell clam recruitment
Advisor: Dr. Brian Beal and Dr. Yong Chen
Email: christopher.abbandonato@maine.edu
Location: UMM Science 213

 


Algburi, Ahmed

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Development of Advance Phosphorous Recommendations for Maine Potato Growers
Advisor: Dr. Lakesh Sharma
Email: Ahmed.jasim@maine.edu
Location: Aroostook Research Farm, 59 Houlton Rd, Presque Isle,ME 04769.


Baron, Amy M.

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Bird Use in Ascophyllum Habitats
Advisor: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: amy.baron@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouse


Bordewieck, Kathleen (Kat)

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Human Dimensions of vernal pool conservation
Advisor: Dr. Aram Calhoun and Dr. Jessica Jansujwicz
EmailKathleen.bordewieck@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall

Boxler, Brandon

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Monarch Butterfly Migration Stop-over Habitats
Advisor: Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email: brandon.boxler@maine.edu
Location: 232A Nutting Hall


Burpee, Benjamin

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Arctic and Alpine glacial lake ecology, climate change
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: benjamin.burpee@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Champagne, Rebecca

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Weed management in organic vegetable systems
Advisor: Dr. Eric Gallandt
Emailrebecca.champagne@maine.edu
Location: 203 Roger Clapp Greenhouse
Websitehttps://umaine.edu/weedecology/

Chang, Hsiao-yun

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Northern shrimp and climate change
Advisor: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: hsiaoyun.chang@maine.edu
Location: 225 Libby Hall


Choi, Olivia N.

Program – PhD
Research Topic – Migratory bird microbiomes and disease
Advisor – Pauline Kamath
Email – olivia.choi@maine.edu
Location – Hitchner Hall 216

DeFranco, Elyse

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Environmental Communication
Advisor: Daniel Dixon
Email: elyse.defranco@maine.edu
Website: http://elysedefranco.wixsite.com/elysedefranco


Dickson, Carly

Program: MS
Research Topic: Host-pathogen evolution of Bacillus anthracis and African ungulates
Advisor: Pauline Kamath
EmailCaroline.c.dickson@maine.edu
Location: 216 Hitchner Hall

Dill, Griffin

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Eleanor Groden
Email: griffin.dill@maine.edu


Dykema, Stephanie

Program: M.S.
Research topic: zooplankton and ecological change in remote lakes
Advisors: Sarah Nelson, Ivan Fernandez
Emailstephanie.dykema@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall

Erdman, Bradley

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Michael Kinnison
Email: bradley.erdman@maine.edu


Farragher, Matt

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Boreal lake ecology
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
E-mail: mfarra90@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall

Fox, Emma

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Multi-criteria decision analysis and hydropower costing
Advisors: Dr. Sharon Klein
Email: emma.fox@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/emma-fox/
Location: 306 Winslow Hall

 


Gray, Carrie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Winter and migration ecology of Red-throated Loons
Advisor: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: carrie.e.osborne@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouse


Gudde, Elise

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Northern flying squirrel and climate change
Advisor: Danielle Levesque
Email: elise.gudde@maine.edu
Location: Murray 307

Guido, Nicole

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Nesting Ecology of Grassland Birds in the Northern Great Plains
Advisor: Dr. Kate Ruskin
Email: nicole.guido@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouses


Hamley, Catherine

Program: M.S.
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: catherine.hamley@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Hess, Megan

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Dragonfly Mercury Project
Advisors: Dr. Hamish Greig and Dr. Sarah Nelson
Email: megan.hess@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall


Horne, Lydia

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Human dimensions of climate change
Advisors: Dr. Sandra De Urioste-Stone
Email: lydia.horne@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/lydia-horne/
Location: 251 Nutting Hall


Johnston, Elliot

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Ecology of coastal birds in rockweed habitats
Advisor: Drs. Brian Olsen & Amanda Klemmer
Emailedwin.johnston@maine.edu
Location: 204 Roger Clapp Greenhouse

Kizhakkepurakkal, Sibi

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Acidification Recovery Response of Bear Brook Watershed
Advisor: Dr. Ivan Fernandez
Email: sibi.kizhakkepurakkal@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall


Kline, Logan

Program: M.S.
Research topic: Remote sensing applications in colonial nesting bird surveys
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Loftin and Dr. Daniel Hayes
Emaillogan.kline@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall

MacDonald, Brooke

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Lead Poisoning in Common Loons
Co-Advisors: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone and Dr. David Evers
Email: brooke.hafford@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/brooke-macdonald/
Location: 251 Nutting Hall


McLachlan, Jack

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Advisor: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: jack.mclachlan@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/graduate-programs/meet-graduate-students/jack-mclachlan/
Location: 217 A Deering Hall


McLaughlin, Bailey

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Plant species’ responses to climate change
Advisor: Dr. Brian McGill
Emailbailey.mclaughlin@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall

Mittelstaedt, Hannah

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Intertidal invertebrate communities and food-webs
Advisor: Dr. Amanda Klemmer, Dr. Brian Olsen
Emailhannah.mittelstaedt@maine.edu
Location: Deering 209

Paisker, Mitchell

Program: M.S.
Research Topic:
Stream-Forest interface subsidy exchange
Advisors:
Dr. Hamish Greig and Dr. Amanda Klemmer
Website:
https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/mitchell-paisker/
Location:
209 Deering


Pedraza Garzon, Edna

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: edna.pedraza@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer Hall


Pellowe, Kara

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Resilience of small-scale fisheries in Baja, Mexico
Advisors:
Dr. Heather Leslie
Website:
https://umaine.edu/leslie-lab/
Location:
Darling Marine Center


Peterson, Trevor

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Assessing spatial and temporal patterns in a large set of offshore acoustic bat monitoring conducted in the Gulf of Maine, mid-Atlantic coast, and the Great Lakes regions.
Advisor: Dr. Brian McGill
Email: trevor.peterson@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall


Ramberg-Phil, Nicole

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Advisor: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: nicole.rambergphil@maine.edu
Location: 211 Deering Hall


Pellecer Rivera, Elizabeth

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Coupled dynamics of tourism and mosquito-borne diseases
Advisor: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Emailelizabeth.pellecer@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall

Ruppert, Kirstie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Human dimensions of giraffe conservation
Advisor:
Dr. Carly Sponarski
Email: kirstie.ruppert@maine.edu
Website:
https://umaine.edu/sponarskilab/people/kirstie-ruppert/
 Location: 202 Nutting Hall


Shea, Stephanie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Wild Turkey Disease Ecology and Evolution
Advisor:
Pauline Kamath
Website:
https://umaine.edu/foodandagriculture/kamath2/
Location:
216 Hitchner Hall


Shepard, Isaac

Program: Ph.D., Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: isaac.shepard@maine.edu
Location: 209D Deering Hall


Smith-Mayo, Jennifer

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Environmental Communication
Advisor: Dr. Bridie McGreavy
Emailjennifer.smithmayo@maine.edu
Website: http://jennifersmithmayo.com

Snyder, Shawn

Program:  Ph.D
Research Topic: Identification and Characterization of Groundwater Dependent Ecosystems in the Northeast United States
Advisor:  Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email:   shawn.snyder@maine.edu
Location:   244 Nutting Hall

Su, Shu

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Science-based fisheries management, China’s fisheries policy and regulations
Advisor: Yong Chen
Emailsu.shu@maine.edu
Location: 221 Libby Hall

Sutton, Anthony

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Maine Wabanaki Food Security and Sovereignty
Advisor: Dr. John Daigle
Email: anthony.sutton@maine.edu Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/2019/02/20/graduate-profile-anthony-sutton/


Tasnim, Rafa

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Warming effects due to climate change as well as fertilization and irrigation effects on wild blueberries.
Advisor: Dr. Yong-jiang Zhang
Emailrafa.tasnim@maine.edu
Location: 304D Deering Hall, University of Maine, Orono 04469
Website linkshttps://rafatasnim.weebly.com/
https://sites.google.com/view/the-zhang-lab/zhang-lab/lab-members?authuser=0
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Rafa_Tasnim2

Volk, Michelle

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Blacklegged tick overwintering survival
Advisor: Dr. Allison Gardner
Email: michelle.volk@maine.edu
Location: 304D Deering

Xu, Luoliang

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Fishery stock assessment and management
Advisor: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: luoliang.xu@maine.edu
Website: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Xu_Luoliang2/stats
Location: 223 Libby Hall