Graduate Student Directory

Abbandonato, Christopher

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Spatial variability in soft-shell clam recruitment
Advisor: Dr. Brian Beal and Dr. Yong Chen
Email: christopher.abbandonato@maine.edu
Location: UMM Science 213

 


Algburi, AhmedAhmed_Algburi

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Development of Advance Phosphorous Recommendations for Maine Potato Growers
Advisor: Dr. Andrei Alyokhin and Dr. Lakesh Sharma
Email: Ahmed.jasim@maine.edu
Location: Aroostook Research Farm, 59 Houlton Rd, Presque Isle,ME 04769.


Bordewieck, Kathleen (Kat)

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Human Dimensions of vernal pool conservation
Advisor: Dr. Aram Calhoun and Dr. Jessica Jansujwicz
EmailKathleen.bordewieck@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall

Braun, Laura

Program: MS
Advisor: Dr. Amanda Klemmer
Email: Laura.braun@maine.edu
Location: Deering 209


Breit, Ana

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Comparative Energetics of Thermoregulatory Physiology
Advisor: Dr. Danielle Levesque
Email: ana.breit@maine.edu
Location: 307 Murray


Chakraborty, Sujan

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Social Dimensions of Circular Economy
Advisor: Cindy Isenhour
Emailsujan.chakraborty@maine.edu

Champagne, Rebecca

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Weed management in organic vegetable systems
Advisor: Dr. Eric Gallandt
Emailrebecca.champagne@maine.edu
Location: 203 Roger Clapp Greenhouse
Websitehttps://umaine.edu/weedecology/

Chang, Hsiao-yun

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Northern shrimp and climate change
Advisor: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: hsiaoyun.chang@maine.edu
Location: 225 Libby Hall


Choi, Olivia N.

Program – PhD
Research Topic – Migratory bird microbiomes and disease
Advisor – Pauline Kamath
Email – olivia.choi@maine.edu
Location – Hitchner Hall 216

de Leon, Michelle

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Human dimensions of climate change
Advisor: Dr. Linda Silka
Emailmichelle.de@maine.edu
Location: 313 Deering Hall
Websitelinkedin.com/in/michelleadeleon


Dickson, Carly

Program: MS
Research Topic: Host-pathogen evolution of Bacillus anthracis and African ungulates
Advisor: Pauline Kamath
EmailCaroline.c.dickson@maine.edu
Location: 216 Hitchner Hall

Dill, Griffin

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Eleanor Groden
Email: griffin.dill@maine.edu


Dykema, Stephanie

Program: M.S.
Research topic: zooplankton and ecological change in remote lakes
Advisors: Sarah Nelson, Ivan Fernandez
Emailstephanie.dykema@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall

Erdman, Brad

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Conservation Genetics
Advisor: Dr. Michael Kinnison
Email: bradley.erdman@maine.edu
Location: 307 Murray Hall


Farragher, Matt

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Lake Ecology
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
E-mail: mfarra90@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall
Website: https://climatechange.umaine.edu/people/matthew-farragher/

Gray, Carrie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Winter and migration ecology of Red-throated Loons
Advisor: Dr. Brian Olsen
Email: carrie.e.osborne@maine.edu
Location: 204 Clapp Greenhouse


Gudde, Elise

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Northern flying squirrel and climate change
Advisor: Danielle Levesque
Email: elise.gudde@maine.edu
Location: Murray 307

Hallerud, Maggie

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Gray squirrel personality and seed dispersal behavior in anthropogenic environments
Advisor: Dr. Alessio Mortelliti
EmailMargaret.hallerud@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall


Hamley, Catherine

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Paleoecological indicators of human arrival and activity in novel landscapes
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Email: catherine.hamley@maine.edu
Location: 128 Sawyer Hall


Hazuková, Vendy

Program: PhD (EES, CCI)
Research topic: Response of Arctic lakes to climate change
Advisor: Jasmine Saros
Emailvaclava.hazukova@maine.edu
Location:  Sawyer 206


Horne, Lydia

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Human dimensions of climate change
Advisors: Dr. Sandra De Urioste-Stone
Email: lydia.horne@maine.edu
Website: https://umaine.edu/ecologyandenvironmentalsciences/lydia-horne/
Location: 251 Nutting Hall


Hotopp, Alice

Program: PhD
Research topic Genome to phenome linkages in the evolutionary ecology of tidal marsh sparrow plumage  
Advisors: Dr. Brian Olsen and Dr. Kristina Cammen
Emailalice.hotopp@maine.edu

Huston, Grayson

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Maine-eDNA
Advisor: Dr. Michael Kinnison & Dr. Jasmine Saros
EmailGrayson.huston@maine.edu
Location: Murray Hall


Jekielek, Phoebe

Program: Maine eDNA
Research Topic: Developing eDNA tools to monitor reproduction and recruitment processes in aquaculture and wild shellfisheries
Advisor: Dr. Heather Leslie
Emailphoebe.jekielek@maine.edu
Location: Darling Marine Center


Johnston, Elliot

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Ecology of coastal birds in rockweed habitats
Advisor: Drs. Brian Olsen & Amanda Klemmer
Emailedwin.johnston@maine.edu
Location: 204 Roger Clapp Greenhouse

Kizhakkepurakkal, Sibi

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Acidification Recovery Response of Bear Brook Watershed
Advisor: Dr. Ivan Fernandez
Email: sibi.kizhakkepurakkal@maine.edu
Location: 116 Deering Hall


Kline, Logan

Program: M.S.
Research topic: Remote sensing applications in colonial nesting bird surveys
Advisors: Dr. Cynthia Loftin and Dr. Daniel Hayes
Emaillogan.kline@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall

MacDonald, Brooke Hafford

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Lake conservation/Social Science
Co-Advisors: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone and John Daigle
Email: brooke.hafford@maine.edu


McLaughlin, Bailey

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Plant species’ responses to climate change
Advisor: Dr. Brian McGill
Emailbailey.mclaughlin@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall

Mittelstaedt, Hannah

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Intertidal invertebrate communities and food-webs
Advisor: Dr. Amanda Klemmer, Dr. Brian Olsen
Emailhannah.mittelstaedt@maine.edu
Location: Deering 209

Pedraza Garzon, Edna

Program: Ph.D.
Advisor: Dr. Jasmine Saros
Email: edna.pedraza@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer Hall


Perry, Katie

Program: M.S. 
Research Topic:
Human dimensions of Lyme disease
Advisors:
Dr. Carly Sponarski and Dr. Jessica Leahy
Email:
katherine.c.perry@maine.edu
Location:
202 Nutting Hall


Pellecer Rivera, Elizabeth

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Coupled dynamics of tourism and mosquito-borne diseases
Advisor: Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Emailelizabeth.pellecer@maine.edu
Location: 231 Nutting Hall

Pugh, Katrina

Preferred Name: Kate Pugh
Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Using AI to show how conversation influences collective impact, and how we can (re)design
networks for better conversation
Advisor: Teresa Johnson, PhD.
Emailkatrina.pugh@maine.edu
Location: Orono, Maine and Lexington, MA
Website Link: https://linkedin.com/in/katepugh

Reilly-Moman, Jessica

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Coastal Climate Resilience and Transformation in Social Ecological Systems in Maine and Mexico
Advisor: Dr. Heather Leslie
Emailjessica.reillymoman@maine.edu
Location: Darling Marine Center, 193 Clarks Cove Road, Walpole, ME 04573
Website: https://umaine.edu/leslie-lab/links/jessica-reilly-moman/http://sailingforclimate.com/


Schierer, Meg

Program:  Ph.D. OneHealth and the Environment NRT
Research Topic: Social and ecological dynamics of mosquito-borne disease
Advisor: Dr. Allison Gardner and Dr. Sandra de Urioste-Stone
Email: megan.schierer@maine.edu
Location: 304 Deering Hall


Shea, Stephanie

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic:
Wild Turkey Disease Ecology and Evolution
Advisor:
Pauline Kamath
Website:
https://umaine.edu/foodandagriculture/kamath2/
Location:
216 Hitchner Hall


Shepard, Isaac

Program: Ph.D., Ecology and Environmental Sciences
Advisor: Dr. Hamish Greig
Email: isaac.shepard@maine.edu
Location: 209D Deering Hall


Snyder, Shawn

Program:  Ph.D
Research Topic: Identification and Characterization of Groundwater Dependent Ecosystems in the Northeast United States
Advisor:  Dr. Cynthia Loftin
Email:   shawn.snyder@maine.edu
Location:   244 Nutting Hall

Su, Shu

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Science-based fisheries management, China’s fisheries policy and regulations
Advisor: Yong Chen
Emailsu.shu@maine.edu
Location: 221 Libby Hall

Tasnim, Rafa

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Warming effects due to climate change as well as fertilization and irrigation effects on wild blueberries.
Advisor: Dr. Yong-jiang Zhang
Emailrafa.tasnim@maine.edu
Location: 304D Deering Hall, University of Maine, Orono 04469
Website linkshttps://rafatasnim.weebly.com/
https://sites.google.com/view/the-zhang-lab/zhang-lab/lab-members?authuser=0
https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Rafa_Tasnim2

Taylor, Tegwin

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Echinococcus in Maine wildlife
Advisors: Dr. Pauline Kamath and Dr. Carly Sponarski
Emailtegwin.taylor@maine.edu
Location: 216 Hitchner Hall


Tirrell, Andrea

Program: MS
Research Topic: New England alpine plant community response to climate change
Advisor: Dr. Jacquelyn Gill
Emailandrea.tirrell@maine.edu
Location: 127 Sawyer

Vogel, Sarah

Program: PhD
Research Topic: Program evaluation of the U.S. Geological Survey’s Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Units Program
Advisors: Cynthia Loftin and Joseph Zydlewski
Emailsarah.vogel@maine.edu
Location: Nutting Hall Room 104

Volk, Michelle

Program: M.S.
Research Topic: Blacklegged tick overwintering survival
Advisor: Dr. Allison Gardner
Email: michelle.volk@maine.edu
Location: 304D Deering

White, Rachel

Program: PhD/ One Health NRT
Research Topic: Risk evaluation of meningeal worm to small ruminant livestock
Advisor: Dr. Anne Lichtenwalner & Dr. Carly Sponarski
Emailrachel.whitney@maine.edu
Location: 136 Hitchner Hall


Xu, Luoliang

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Fishery stock assessment and management
Advisor: Dr. Yong Chen
Email: luoliang.xu@maine.edu
Website: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Xu_Luoliang2/stats
Location: 223 Libby Hall


Yen, Ivy

Program: Ph.D.
Research Topic: Animal Behavior and Anthropogenic Landscapes
Advisor: Dr. Alessio Mortelliti
Emailivy.yen@maine.edu
Location: 202 Nutting Hall