Faculty and Staff

Karen Moffett, Administrative Assistant

Office: Winslow Hall 206
Phone: 207.581.3154
Email: karen.moffett@umit.maine.edu

Shelley Rollins, Administrative Assistant

Office: Winslow Hall 206
Phone: 207.581.3150
Email: shelley.rollins@umit.maine.edu


Senior Executive Fellow in Financial Economics

Jack Lavery 

Cooperating faculty

Assistant Professor of Political Economy Kristin Vekasi

PhD, MA University of Wisconsin, Madison
Research: International political economy, China & Japan, foreign direct investment
Office: 111 North Stevens
Phone: 207.581.1876
E-mail: kristin.vekasi@maine.edu

Assistant Professor of Nature-based Tourism Sandra De Urioste-Stone

Ph.D. University of Idaho
Research: Sustainable Rural Livelihoods; Human Dimensions of Climate Change; Sustainable Tourism Planning; Community Resilience; Health Risk Perceptions; and Collaborative Natural Resource Management. 
Office: 237 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2885
Email: sandra.de@maine.edu


Assistant Professor Mindy Crandall


Ph.D.Applied Economics, Minor in Forest Resources, Oregon State University
Research: Forest Management, Forest Products Markets, Alternative Economic Development
Office: 243 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2855
Email: mindy.crandall@maine.edu

Professor of Human Dimensions of Natural Resources Jessica Leahy


Ph.D. University of Minnesota
Research: Outcomes-Focused Management of Family Forests; Public Attitudes Toward Forests and Forestry; Individual and Community Benefits of Citizen Science
Office: 241 Nutting Hall
Phone: 207.581.2875
Email: jessica.leahy@maine.edu


Assistant Professor in Economic Anthropology Cynthia Isenhour

Ph.D. Anthropology, University of Kentucky
Research: Economic and Environmental Anthropology; Consumption; Embodied Energy and Emissions; Climate Change Adaptation; Environmental Load Displacement; Environmental Justice, Sustainability, Environmental Governance; Global Cities
Office: 230 Stevens Hall
Phone: 207.581.1895
Eamil: cynthia.isenhour@maine.edu

Assistant Professor of Anthropology Christine Beitl

Ph.D. Ecological and Environmental Anthropology, University of Georgia, 2012
Research: Economic Anthropology; Commons Pool Resources; Mangrove Forest Landscapes; Fisheries Governance; Social-Ecological Resilience
Office: S. Stevens Hall, Rm. 228A
Telephone: 207.581.1893
Fax: 207.581.1823
Email: christine.beitl@maine.edu

Emeriti faculty

David Clark, Professor
Wally Dunham, Professor
Thomas Duchesneau, Professor
Mark Lutz, Professor
David Wihry, Associate Professor
Stewart Smith, Professor
Mark Anderson, Senior Instructor
Hsiang-Tai Cheng, Professor
Stephen Reiling, Professor