Professional Education

The RIBHPC Professional Development Workshop Series offers continuing educational workshops covering topics and skills in integrated behavioral health with a focus on rural practice. The semi-annual workshops are available to health care professionals at partner institutions as well as faculty and students from the two graduate programs. Topics will include mental health screening and assessment in primary care, trauma-informed primary care, trauma-focused cognitive behavior therapy, telehealth in rural primary care and other evidence-based approaches to behavioral healthcare. The workshop series will utilize a hybrid approach of live and distance learning pedagogies.

All RIBHPC partner institutions are eligible to have a representative serve on the RIBHPC Professional Development Workshop Series Steering Committee. Current members include:

Jeffrey Hecker
Department of Psychology
University of Maine

Collen Owens
Director of Psychotherapy
Penobscot Community Health Center

Norma Watson
Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Aroostook Mental Health Center

April O’Grady
Center Mental Health Consultant
Penobscot Job Corps

Jesse Higgins
Director of Integrated Behavioral Health
Northern Light Health

Corey Smith
Director of Behavioral Health
Maine-Dartmouth Family Medicine Residency

Diana Prescott
Clinical Psychologist
Hampden Psychological

Susan Slick
Director, Learning and Innovation Team
Northern Light Health

Suzanne Farley
Executive Director