Annual Employee Recognition

Every year we recognize members of the UMaine community by hosting a campus-wide recognition and appreciation luncheon.  We celebrate the contributions, years of service and recognize excellence.  While we see the good work that our employees do everyday in our respective areas, it is important that we take time to recognize their valuable service and dedication.  It’s as events like this that we can come together and recognize the leadership found through our community, demonstrated commitment to UMaine’s mission to its students and its state.

Congratulations to our colleagues for their years of service and to the 2019 award recipients.

Thank you all for your years of service and dedication to the University of Maine.

List of Honorees 


We are proud to announce recipients of awards for the 2019 Employee Recognition.

Classified Employee Award

2019 CEAC Award Recipient: 

Sheri A. Hill, Naval ROTC

Professional Employee Award

2019  PEAC Award Recipient:

Betsy G. Rose, National Poetry Foundation

Outstanding Research Administration Award

2019 Outstanding Research Administration Award Recipient:

Betty P. Lee, Climate Change Institute

2019 Steve Gould Award

The Steve Gould Award is presented to members of the UMaine community who have, by their conduct, demonstrated superior qualities of unselfishness and compassion in the course of serving UMaine and its ideals. 

2019 Steve Gould Award Recipient:

Janet May, Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies