Veteran Friendly Faculty and Staff

Below is a list of faculty and staff who have identified as Veteran-friendly by volunteering their time and efforts to support veterans on the UMaine campus and/or attending the Student Veterans at UMaine Training Workshop. Identified veterans will be distinguished by an asterisk (*) by their names.

MBS Corps and UMVA volunteering in front of the Memorial Union

Veteran Advisory Committee Members:

Nory Jones (Chair) –  Professor, Maine Business School

Tony Llerena  (Co-Chair) – Coordinator of VETS, Student Life – (Ex-Officio)

Lieutenant Colonel Michael R. Davis, UMaine Army ROTC

Captain Michael Flanagan (USMC)* – UMaine Navy ROTC

Kristy Howarth* – President, Student Veterans Association – (Ex-Officio)

Samantha Wheeler – UMaine Career Center

Paul Gagnon* – Former UMaine Career Center (now retired)

Sharon Oliver – UMaine Admissions Office – Director of Transfer Admissions

Andrea Gifford – Associate Dean of Students, Student Life

Joe Miller* – Graduate Student Veteran

James Settele* Captain, USN, (ret.) – Director, SPIA

Margaret Nagle – Division of Marketing and Communications


Veteran Friendly Staff & Faculty: 

Thomas Banister* – ROTC

Sean Harmon* – ROTC

Samantha Brown – Bursars Office

Katherine O’Flaherty – Honors College

Alan Parks – Student Support Services

April Boulier – Counseling Center

Carol Toner – Maine Studies

Catherine Athay – Student Support Services

Dan Robbins – Counseling Center

Erin Straine – Education & Human Development

Farahad Dastoor – School of Biology & Ecology

Kate Axelsen Foster – Career Center

Michael Lyman – Counseling Center

Nancy Boyington – Hutchinson Center

Sharon Barker – Women’s Resource Center

Tim Waring – School of Economics

Shannon Field– School of Forest Resources

John Mahon*, Professor, Maine Business School

Todd Zaroya* – College Success Programs